Getting Started


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
May 29th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok,

so I've been thinking about doing this for a while, maybe 2 years, but I had to wait until I was travelling before I could legitimately write a travel blog. I never got around to it last time, and well, it seemed no one missed it anyway. This time, I'm off to south eastern Africa for a while, and hopefully some fun shit will happen along the journey.

Unless you've actually been somewhere, or have a specific interest in somewhere, it's not very exciting to listen to me rabbiting on about it. Stories need a hook, and then a punch-line. Much like this doesn't have. I've looked at a few different people's blogs, and to be honest, they can quite easily become boring and repetitive, unexciting and tedious, uninteresting and bland. I'll try to avoid this.

So, if you know me, then you'll know my stories are often actually quite dumb, and lack substance, mainly because I tell them without actually thinking about how daft they actually are when told to someone else. It's always that kind of, "I guess you just had to be there" factor.
I am not going to use this as a 'diary' of my days away, I already have one of those and if I wanted you to read it I'd just copy it straight onto here. But I don't.

When something cool happens, I'll let ya know- like last night, at dinner, just as my parents and I sat down at a table at the open air bar/restaurant, I happened to glance under the table and saw something scuttle under the foot rest. Apparently my mum saw it too, and recognised it. A mean and angry looking scorpion, at least 13cm long and entirely black, was lurking at our feet. Needless to say, we changed tables while the waiter got a dust pan and collected it up and deposited it back outside near a tree. And people say Australia has vicious creatures...

And just last week, when I was on Koh Tao, in Thailand, one of my friends there had been feeling a bit under the weather for a few days, and eventually decided to go see the doctor. Luckily for her, because that evening, following doctors orders to go to the hospital a couple islands away, a blood test diagnosed her with Dengue Fever, a potentially fatal infection caught via mosquitoes. So much to look forward to ay....


Advertisement



29th May 2010

Finally it's here, a travelblog worth reading!! :) But no deepest darkest secrets? thats a shame;)
2nd June 2010

My parents both had dengue fever when we were living in Sri Lanka, it's nasty stuff.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb