More adventures....


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 4th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, I am a bit behind with this journal at the moment so am quickly going to tell you what I have been up to since my last entry and up until today.
On the Tuesday evening (31st Jan) we were still in Kuala Lumpar and I found the best meal I have had so far at a restaurant called Secret Recipe. It was grilled chicken with a mushroom sauce, seasoned rice, and salad, followed by the best slab of chocolate cake ever and it all cost me less than a fiver. Its not that I don't want to try different things its just that I am really struggling to find anything I like,
We then went to see the twin towers lit up at night which was amazing, got some really good photos. Just a shame that we got so lost on the way back. Took us an hour and a half to find our way back to the hotel. Never mind, at least I burnt off the chocolate cake.
Wednesday 1st Feb- Visited the twin towers in the morning. We sat in a room and watched a short film about them and then took the lift to the 41st floor (the half way point where the bridge is). Tourists aren't allowed any further up. It was nice to see the view from the bridge but to be honest the towers were far more impressive at night. In the afternoon we jumped in a taxi and asked the driver to take us to a mosque but instead he took us to a museum. It was very funny, I had to act out praying to make him understand where we wanted to go. The mosque was very pretty but it was really hot to walk around and it wasn't helped by the fact that we were given full lengh robes and a scarf to wear to cover us from head to toe. In the evening our tour guide, Arif took us to China Town for a meal. The appearance of the 'restaurant' was very worrying but it was actually quite a nice meal. Think I will follow his recommendation all the time now as he has been doing this tour for over five years so knows what he is talking about. We also visited Kuala Lumpar night market; its an extremely busy place and they picked on us straight away asking us to come into their shop and offering to give us a good price. Its ok you just have to have your wits about you. I managed to get myself a bracelet down from 10 ringits to five!
Thursday 2nd Feb- We left our hotel in the morning and headed for the Cameron Highlands. It was our longest journey yet and typically the worst bus. The seats were not actually attached to the base of the bus, which doesn't help when your driver fancies himself as the next world rally champion. We were swerving round rocky bends at a speed that wasn't safe for a car let alone a rickety old bus. Anyway, we arrived safely at the Hillside Hotel. It is very basic and there are a lot more bugs here but I suppose both are to be expected. The climate is nice though, a lot cooler than the cities that we have been too.
Friday 3rd Feb- Had an amazing day from start to finish. We booked to go on an adventure day and started by travelling in our four wheel drive to visit the tea plantations. We stopped to take photos, had a tour around the factory and then got ourselves a cup of traditional Malaysian tea. We then went onto a butterfly farm, which also contained lots of snakes, scorpions, beetles, and much more. I had my photo taken with butterflies on me but wasn't willing to hold the fighting scorpion. In the afternoon we went on a 3 hour jungle walk ( think my walking up and down Mow Cop really paid off). It was hard work, we had to cross rivers, and clamber over trees and up hills but it was well worth it. We got to see the worlds largest flower,The Rafflesia, and visited a waterfall (also stopped for a quick dip). By the time we got back to the van I was covered in mud from head to toe (I had to be the person who fell over the most...). Finally, we went to visit a local village. The living conditions were very poor and there were so many children there but the people were very friendly and the children loved having their photo taken. We even had a go at blow hunting. After a very long day we went to a local restaurant to try a local dish called a Steam Boat. Steam Boats come with seasoned boiling water and you cook your own food. The food included, beef, chicken, pork, fish, veg, eggs, noodles, and tofu. Its seen as a big social occasion over here and I can see why because you have to discuss what you are going to cook and then chat while the food is cooking. I tried prawns, muscles, and kettle fish. All were nice. Overall, the day was full of great experiences.
Sat 4th Feb- Have arrived in Penang. Don't have much to say about it really apart from I don't like it. I imagined it to be this beautiful island but that is so far from the truth. I am using these days to update this journal and do some washing. Can't wait to get to Krabi in Thailand.
Thats it. I have now updated you with everything I think. Will be in touch soonxxxx

Advertisement



15th February 2006

Wow
Loved your photo's and blog. I am off to Penang and Singapore next month, might have to try a Steam Boat Cheers Linda www.penangtravelforum.com

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb