A Day Full of Mishaps


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
May 31st 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It would be an understatement to say today was a day full of mishaps. As I mentioned in my last entry, I went to watch Narnia, Prince of Capian in the shopping mall in Ipoh after dinner. As I entered the mall, I noticed that there was a taxi stop right in front of the mall. I thought to myself: "how convenient! I can take the cab back to the train station when the movie is finish." When got out the movie around 11pm, the mall was already close and there was not a single cab outside waiting as it did before. I asked a group of school children who were obviously waiting for their parents to pick them up if there would be more taxi come by later. They told me no. Yes, they told me NO. My train was scheduled to leave in a little under 40 minutes, ten past midnight to be exact. So I started to run. Picture Forrest Gump, running and running. Yup, I ran from the mall to the station in 20 minutes time. I didn't get lost in the city. I was able to recognized all the key landmarks I saw earlier and found my way back to the train station. I raced upstair to pick up my backpack from the hotel reception. I still got 10 minutes to spare before the train arrived.
The midnight train showed up at least half hour late. When I went to my assigned cabin, I realized there was someone in my spot already. The guy in there took a look at me and lack the cabin door behind him. I went to the conductor to figure out why there was someone else in my place. He pointed out to me that I was one day late for my train. When I was making reservation for the overnight train, I failed to taken into account that the train was leaving after midnight. A small mistake that could have devastating effect! The conductor told me that the train was complete booked and I might need to stand over five hours for the trip. Staying in Ipoh for another night was not an option at all. I rather bite the bullet than spend another uneventful day here. Plus, it would mess up plans/reservations I have already made.
I beg and pled. Finally, the conductor sold me an economy seat not the original overnight sleeper I have originally purchased. I got worry sick when the train start moving in the direction going toward Kuala Lumpur (the same direction I came from yesterday). That was another wrose scenario: end up in the wrong station, going in the wrong direction. Again, since the train was traveling in pitch black, one couldn't quite make out what's outside. Alas, I arrived in Butterworth at 6 a.m. I hopped on the fury next to the station. The short fury ride was refreshing and calmed my nerves a little bit.
What I looked forward the most was a hot shower and a comfortable loft to crush. Instead, I got an early morning tour of the island. My bus driver completely forgot to stop for my hotel as I've requested when I first got on the bus. One hour later, I was on the other side of the island gazing into sunrise and the ocean from an empty bus. Was I upset? Sure! But I figure, it was simply another mishap. Roll with the punch and look a the bright side.
As I waited for the bus to take me back to Georgetown, I looked straight into the road ahead of me. I don't typically wake up this early. It was quite interesting to see the town come to live. Two women riding the bike side by side as the vendors on the streets set up their stalls for a day of business. It was a slice of local life I came to appreciated.
I finally arrived at my hotel at around 9 a.m. I was disappointed to learn that all rooms were booked previous night, so I couldn't check-in until 2 p.m. I got a few pointers from the hotel clerk and hit out for another day of adventure. Hopefully, with less mishaps this time around.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb