Bus trip round the Penang Island


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Koay Teow Th'ng at Teluk PahangKoay Teow Th'ng at Teluk PahangKoay Teow Th'ng at Teluk Pahang

Nice and delicious breakfast on boiling hot Koay Teow Th'ng with some very hot bird-eye chillis and a cup of coffee with milk. Total cost RM3.10, just over A$1.00
27 Dec 2007 - I started off the round-Penang bus trip from the bus terminal at Komtar. I took the Jetty-Teluk Pahang bus which travelled along a small stretch of busy Penang Road to Burmah Road. It would then travel to Pulau Tikus to Tanjung Bungah, a fishing village. The road after TB is very windy and soon I found myself in Batu Ferringgi, another fishing village with many private apartments and four and five-star hotels by the beach. In the evenings, there is a thriving night market catering for tourists.

The bus would proceed along the coast road to Teluk Pahang, another fishing village, where I disembarked. I would take a leisurely stroll and I had my late breakfast of a local favourite soup, the Koay Teow Th'ng or flat rice noodle soup with a cup of local coffee at the roadside shed which also houses the Coffee-on-wheel stall (shown in my previous post).

The next stage of the round trip would see me on the Teluk Pahang-Parit Pulau mini bus. This hourly bus service was only recently restored by a govt-owned tourist company. The previous private operator had to cease operation because of poor business. As it
Parit PulauParit PulauParit Pulau

Tiny inland township with only one main street. You can get off the bus here. The bus terminal is about 10 minute walk from town centre.
turned out I was the only passenger. So I sat up front next to the Malay driver. On the way, we struck up a conversation. He is a trained electronics technician who used to work in a foreign MNC as a shopfloor foreman. He was bored with the job and decided to work as a bus driver as he preferred an out-door job. He has four young children. To supplement the family income, his wife sells nasi lemak or coconut flavoured rice which she cooks and prepares in the morning. The family lives near in one of the tiny Malay villages near Parit Pulau.

From Parit Pulau, I caught the Parit Pulau-Jetty bus. I arrived back at the Komtar bus terminal just after 1.30pm and proceeded to my favourite Penang Beef noodle soup at the bottom of Chulia Street near the Beach Road intersection for lunch.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Penang Beef Soup Koay TeowPenang Beef Soup Koay Teow
Penang Beef Soup Koay Teow

on Chulia Street near the Beach Road junction. It costs RM8.00 but it is a big serve and well worth it. It is under A$3.00 at current exchange rate.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb