National park


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » Batu Ferringhi
November 21st 2012
Published: November 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Firstly, Forget what I said about Batu Ferringi not being my type of place as the national park surpassed all expectations.

I took the bus to the entrance of the park where you have to sign in. Register our details, who you are, where you plan to go and when you plan to be back.

I chose to take the route to monkey beach. Part of the hike was pretty tough at parts, navigating over rocks, tree trunks ad using man made ropes to climb rock faces.



It's hard to describe the hike fully; yes I saw some amazing views, untouched white sand beaches with the waves gently crashing into the rock boulders, i saw some fauna (wild mushrooms and the 'shy' plant. The one that closes when you touch it, not sure of its botanical name) but the sounds as I was wandering through the forest I can't describe. Monkeys howling in the tree tops, birds singing, waves crashing, that insect sound (like a rainforest sound) and he humidity, well only I know that. I was sweating..

A few grazes to the legs later, around 1hr 45 minutes, I arrived on monkey beach. And yes, there were monkeys, plenty of them. Along with more crabs than I have ever seen!

It felt like I had been shipwrecked, during the hike I didn't see a single person, arriving at the beach there were a few fishing boats but little else besides monkeys, a few swings in the trees and the odd fallen coconut. It was heaven. I sat for a while, grateful of this amazing hand in life I have been dealt.

Never before would I have even dreamt I would be experiencing such things.

I took a fishing boat back to the national park entrance.

There are many hikes you can take in the national park an one day I would love to return to see what else mother nature has to offer here.

Love to all....ps the photos will eventually get uploaded, I promise! Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb