Kuala Lumpur To Koh Samui Via Bangkok - Day 13


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kuala Lumpur
September 16th 2010
Published: September 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

14th September 2010
I set my alarm early so I could get the embassy as it opened. Luckily I was the first one there so I got seen straight away. I was in the embassy for nearly 4 hours whilst they were getting all the documents together to be processed and sent off to the UK embassy. I had to leave to check out of my hostel before 12 and get back asap to hear the verdict. Luckily once I got back to the embassy my passport had been completed and signed off. I now had 3 hours to get to the airport, buy a ticket and get on the plane!
I got the train to the airport which was the quickest route, the train left just after 1pm and I didn’t arrive at the airport until 2pm. There was a bit of a queue at the Air Asia deck and I knew check in would close about 45mins/1hour before the flight leaves. I got seen about 2.30pm and they lady refused to sell me a ticket as I wouldn’t make it in time, I took the risk and brought the ticket anyway knowing that I would lose my money if I didn’t make it. I had to run to the opposite side of the air port to check in and I literally made it by the skin on my teeth!! So I now knew I had a chance of catching up with the group tonight.
I got to passport control and they didn’t like the passport, I didn’t have a stamp to say I had entered into Malaysia and the computers could not pick up that I had even entered on my last passport. Not another hurdle?! They said my only option was for me to go back down to the main immigration desk and get them to stamp to say I entered. At this point I had 30minutes before my flight was leaving and there was no chance I would make it! Fortunately another member of the staff in immigration stamped it for me and let me through. I think he must have felt sorry for me!
So I was finally back on track and I boarded the plane. Flight was about two hours to Bangkok and then I had to face my next hurdle...would there be space on the flight to Koh Samui? The answer was No!! I decided to take another risk and pay to be on the standby list. There were three flights to koh Samui that evening however there was 7 other people in front of me. I had to wait about 50 minutes to find out if I got on the first one. It was the longest 50 minutes ever!! Unfortunately I didn’t get on it so I had another 40 minutes to wait to see if I got on the second one. I thought about just giving up and finding a hostel until the 6am flight the next day. I decided to wait for the next one before I made my decision. I went back to the desk thinking I didn’t really have any chance of getting this flight, they kept us waiting another 10 minutes and I was one of the lucky ones that got a ticket! Phew! The flight was leaving in 20 minutes and I still have to get through passport and security! I somehow made it all in time and boarded the plane. So my luck had changed, I got onto the flights I needed and I even got extra leg room on the second flight.
I arrived in koh Samui just over an hour later and got the shuttle to the hostel the group were staying at, they had just come back from dinner and were heading out for some drinks. I jumped in the shower and joined them for a drink or two...or maybe quite a few more!! Hey I needed it after my day!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb