Vientiane and beyond


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

last night i read in the laos paper that there was a festival at the temple i was goign to visit from the 7th to the 9th! so after a mild panic i finally found somewhere to stay in the tiny village!

i have met so many wonderful people on my travels, everyone has been lovely! except today i felt a bit lonely. because i spent so much money on accommodation during this damn festival, it ahs left me a little bit broke! so everything today had to be cheap! i feel like i've wasted the day, there's only so much sight seeing one can do!! yesterday i hired a bike and even though it is a big capital, most of the major/interesting things to see can easily be done in a day! it's weird having to relax after spending so long rushing around like a headless chicken at the coop or uni. slowing down is a very odd feeling.

i saw the sunset over the mekong river the other night and it was beautiful! my camera isn't letting me post pictures!!!! but while i was sipping my lao beer, an american from luang prabang guesthouse came to sit and talk, it was nice, he was telling me about how his experiences in vietnam shapped his life! he said to make a timeline of significant events and when he showed me his it was so weird to see his life mapped out in a diagram. (i've spent the whole day being reflective! i hope that this experience abroad will give me a better scope for when i get back!!) anyway, i better go and see what else i can do to pass the time befrore my 19.00 overnight bus to pakse and then to the festival in chapassak!!! it was my cheapest place i was visiting...how life has a habbit of changing things in ways you cant control! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb