Luang Prubang - Vang Vieng


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
September 21st 2011
Published: September 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I will be a happy man if I never have to see a bus again in my life.

I left Chiang Mai and head to the Thai/Laos boarder and stayed there for a night. The next day I got a boa across the Mekong and entered Laos with 2 Italian guys from the guesthouse in Chiang Mai. WE were mant to get the boat down the river to Luang Prubang but were talked out of it because of the weather and got on a local bus instead. Instead of arriving in Luang Prubang at 9:30pm we arrived at 1:30am, 15 hours after we had hopped on the bus...

We managed to find a guesthouse and I think we were all happy just to get a bed. Luang Prubang is a great little town with a lot of character and I really enjoyed it and got a fair few good photos. We went out to a waterfall on one day which was very flooded and we hiked/climbed up the side of it which took a fair bit of effort and got some leaches as well which wasnt to bad but the Italian guys wouldnt stop complaining about them.

The night life in Luang Prubang is different to say the least. Because it is a world heritage site all the bars close at 11:30 and then everyone heads to the bowling alley to keep drinking where you can buy a bottle of Lao Lao (rice whisky) for 3000 kip which is about $4. So I had a very big night last night, spliting a bottle with an English guy who left with one of my thongs so now I have mismatching thongs.

So this morning I got a minibus to Vang Vieng which was another exciting bus ride, I think they have a habit of overbooking things here and you can expect the bus rides to take at least an hour longer then they say it will. But I got here this afternoon and haven't really had time to do anything but tomorrow I am thinking I will hire a bike and ride around to check out same caves and stuff then maybe tubing tomorrow afternoon or friday before kayaking down to Vientiene

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb