Luang Prabang day 3


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at a reasonable time (unlike the previous days). and headed down to the main street. It was incredibly muggy and the sun was hidden behing thick grey clouds.

I decoded to climb Phu Si, which is a hill smack bang in the middle of Luang Prabang to take in the splendid views of the city with the Mekong on one side and emerald krast mountains serving as a beautiful backdrop. The hill is also home to a few Wats (all relatively new) and the many budda statues looked splendid in the flowery surroundings.

I made it back down to the other side of the hill and followed the river round. It just started to rain againso I figured it was a good time to find some shelter that served lunch.

Had a good lunch and banana shake while I waited for the rain to stop. On that note for some reason I cant get enough banana shakes or generally fruit shakes. The fruit in Asia is so much tastier then back home, sweeter and full of flavour. This is probably because they dont tamper with them as much. As an example the bananas over here are tiny in comparison to those in the uk.

Went to a travel agent to buy a bus ticket to Vientiane for tomorrow.

During the rain stopped for a while so I went to find an internet cafe. A bit of a trek as the first two had their PCs all playing up. But found one in the end, which I used for a short while before the PCs there also started to play up.

Went to visit the beautiful Wat housed in the Royal Palace Museum grounds. Very beautiful it was and it acted as my refuge as I waited for another rain storm to pass.

Made my way back to the guest house where I started to pack my stuff for the bus journey south tomorrow morning.

After a shower and change of clothes I went to the night market. Then had some dinner near by. Then back to the night market for some souveneers.

The night market was quite amuseing as everytime I got down to a price I was content with and they were refuseing to budge id smile say thanks then start to get up to leave. Sure enough they'd cave and except my price. One lady after adhearing to my price was still so happy she did this good luck thing where she taped all of here items with the two dollars id given her and sing something. Another little old lady ended up giving me way to much change (3 dollars more which is alot for them) but this being quite a poor country I notified the lady of her mistake and gave her the exrtra back. This resulted in said old lady getting a right rollacking from her daughter.
Part of the lighting of the market wasnt working so some guy was trying to fix it. He managed to switch on then off the lights of the entire market 2 to 3 times much to the horror then releaf, horror, releaf and finally horror again of all the sales people. On his final attempt he managed to lose the lighting of not only the entire market but also 2km worth of main street. I took this as my sign to leave.

I deciided to go for a crepe (banana and chocolate) and while there I got talking to a french/swiss couple for a while.

We then parted ways and on the way back to the Guest house it started to rain again so dived into a bar for drink as I waited for the rain to stop.

When it did I headed back to the guest house and had an early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb