Last Night in the Land of a Million Elephants


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Pakxe
August 12th 2005
Published: August 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

"Idyllic Mekong"... well, it's orright innit?"Idyllic Mekong"... well, it's orright innit?"Idyllic Mekong"... well, it's orright innit?

The view from our front porch. Most tranquil. Traffic could be a bit noisy in the morning, though.
Well, I haven't seen any elephants.


...but that's not what I came here to talk about! We're heading out of Laos tomorrow and back into the Land-of-the-Thai. Still have a week and a bit left till England, and I'm not sure of what to do next! (Suggestions anyone?) I really really really don't want to hang around Bangkok. Hang on, rephrase: I WILL NOT hang around Bangkok for more than a day, so I need to make a decision soon as to where to go! Was thinking of Pai, but don't think I can handle the 12 hour bus trip to Chiang Mai again! Ko Samet? Ko Chiang? Are they malarial? Who knows.

Despite all odds, the 4000 islands had next to no mosquitos! We stayed there for the past 4 days in a little bungalow called Phonepasack in the river (that's right, IN the river) for 50c a night. There's not a whole lot to do down there, which was a welcome change! As it was raining most of the time, Benny, Pete & I spent most of the days sitting in hammocks on our front porch reading, playing cards, eating and drinking Beer Lao. A few
"Reclining Uke" (trying to be artistic)"Reclining Uke" (trying to be artistic)"Reclining Uke" (trying to be artistic)

In this piece, I have used the ukulele to simulate some of the colourful activities we engaged in...
attempts at adventure were made, but nothing too physically exerting 😊 As per usual, I will go on to explain via camera...

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The eighth wonder...The eighth wonder...
The eighth wonder...

...we also built things... fascinating!
Now I'm just being wanky...Now I'm just being wanky...
Now I'm just being wanky...

Another piece of "ahhhhhht"!
For Pete's Shake *doo doom tsss!*For Pete's Shake *doo doom tsss!*
For Pete's Shake *doo doom tsss!*

...yes, my drum kit has once again fallen from the cliff of comedy
Some wildlifeSome wildlife
Some wildlife

Lex, for some reason, this made me think of you :P
Benny's PigBenny's Pig
Benny's Pig

he wanted to take it home... strange man
Jungle KidsJungle Kids
Jungle Kids

this is me 20 years ago
Overgrown Manor House thingOvergrown Manor House thing
Overgrown Manor House thing

we stumbled across a peculiar building in the jungle on Don Khon... and took this album cover-like photograph in front of it.
Overgrown Manor House thingOvergrown Manor House thing
Overgrown Manor House thing

looking up at it's roof that was about to cave in around us at any moment
Leaving Don DetLeaving Don Det
Leaving Don Det

me, pete & benny in the boat back to Ban Nakasang this morning.
YOU YOU YOU!YOU YOU YOU!
YOU YOU YOU!

Getting food (or similar) thrust in my face by about 20 small girls on the bus to Pakse this morning. There was everything from sticky rice & mystery meat on a stick to small little packages tied up with string.... and scorpions.


12th August 2005

woooot wooot
yes that strange tounged creature does somewhat resemble me doesnt it HAHAHA :D he he he. ahhh your life seems so exotic...wait a minute...seems? it IS! your inspring me now. i think im gonna have to do it someday too :p
12th August 2005

We look forward to your news and photos, charlie. I suppose you could consider changing to an earlier flight again so as not to spend time in BK. Love from us both.
13th August 2005

Hey Peter ..your Mom is watching !
Great site ....thanks to your buddy I can appreciate where you have been and worry less or more ! We all miss you here in Vancouver .Keep up the good work Charlie .

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb