Day Forty One: In the Country Part II


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
May 6th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Combine HarvestingCombine HarvestingCombine Harvesting

This is the pic taken with the camera phone, so it's not very clear, but trust me, I looked awesome.
Sanae and I woke up at the exact same moment. We sat up at the same time and beamed at each other
"Ohio!" I greeted her
" Good Morning Leah san" she responded cheerily.
She climbed out of bed and threw open the curtains, bathing the room in bright orange sunlight. I got up to join her and we perched ourselves on the window sill and squinted through the sunlight to take in the rolling fields and occasional farmhouse that was our view. Then, as agreed, we took out the I Pod and listened to Kenny Chesney crooning away about the wonderfulness of being sexy and having tractors. It was very fitting.
After breakfast we got ourselves straight into the country lifestyle. We walked down to the river and chewed on long pieces of grassy stuff. We got lost in our walk around and ended up cutting through someones backyard (and quite creepily, their home cemetary) to get home. Sanae killed oodles of mosquitoes and became my hero. I drove a Combine Harvester and became her hero. Then we ventured back home to help Sanaes grandmother and uncle dig up bamboo shoots.
Now, like me, you may not be aware that bamboo shoots grow, not in small, rectangular bite sized pieces that you pick daintily off a tree stump and fit perfectly into a can, but in big root form that require a lot of digging and heave ho-ing with a ho. or in this case, two ho's... get it? haha, I'm so funny.
After the bamboo shoots we meandered inside and joined Sanaes uncle for a beer or two... and then three and four.... and then five and six. As Sanae pointed out, there was nothing else to do in the country, so by the time we bundled ourselves on the train ride home we were both feeling no pain. I was singing Dwight Yoakam quietly using my I Pod as a microphone and Sanae was jiggling around in her seat doing back up dancer/vocals.
From memory we weren't that loud, but its probably a good thing the train was mostly empty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb