Off Time Fun (Part 2)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Everynight after work we always try to do something fun. Usually once or twice a week James spends about 4000 - 6000¥ on fireworks (about $40-$60). I think he's crazy for spending that much on fireworks...but he has fun. James says in Australia he can't buy fireworks so he wants to have as much fun shooting them off in Japan as he can.





Last Friday, we did something crazy. We pulled an all nighter by renting a car and driving to Fukuoka, a two hour drive from the dormitory. Scot knew a DJ from Canada playing at a club here in Japan called Keith Flack. It cost us 3500 ¥(about $35) to get in.  We all thought it would be fun even though we all had to work the next day. It's was bit crazy to stay up all night but we did have fun.





This weekend we decided to try something different and threw a pot luck. Everyone was to make something special. I made my taco salad and guacamole dip. I learned how to make guacamole from Lisa, my girlfriend back home. I miss her a lot. Scot made udon noodles stir fry. Ryan made Italian meatballs in sauce. Rob made lollipop chicken in a honey mustard sauce. Sandra, Rob's girlfriend made wasabi avacado prosciutto salad and James made Aussie beer steak in a mushroom beer sauce surrounded by more beer.





Editor's note : Scot Free was a little disappointed that in the last blog I made him look too clean cut. He told me if his friends found out he had fun bowling, went to a movie, and ate out at fancy restaurants without raising a little hell his bad boy reputation would be tainted. So with my best blogging efforts in keeping Scot happy and keeping my blog at a PG 13 rating I included a few photos of Scot raising a little hell in Fukuoka and at the pot luck. It's the least I could do to keep his reputation intact.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

a couple nights ago we decided to have a pot lucka couple nights ago we decided to have a pot luck
a couple nights ago we decided to have a pot luck

Ryan cooking Italian meatballs in sauce
Scot Free showing his darker sideScot Free showing his darker side
Scot Free showing his darker side

After all he has a reputation to uphold
Rob cooking honey lollipop chickenRob cooking honey lollipop chicken
Rob cooking honey lollipop chicken

In the toaster oven/microwave...that's right it's a toaster oven AND a microwave all in one!
James made Aussie beer steakJames made Aussie beer steak
James made Aussie beer steak

That's steak for beer mate!


28th May 2007

Making me hungry
I really shouldn't have read this post before eating. That steak looks very good to me.
29th May 2007

I agree that steak does look good. Glad to see you are having fun Mike.
29th May 2007

Strange statue
Mike, I think that statue is from the Aliens franchise movies. You know the ones with Sigourney Weaver. Aliens 1 and 2 are still my favs.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb