Mission: Accomplished!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
July 8th 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Having such little evidence to go by, I suspected that my mission to find the Golden Carrot may prove impossible! Considering the sheer number of temples in Japan alone I thought 3 weeks could not possibly be enough time. As we left Chiran, then Miyazaki and then my friends left to go to Kyoto and then home, time was running out, and fast. My family were expecting me home in less than 7 days, but could I return empty-handed?

And then, out of the blue, I opened my weary eyes towards the end of a short cruise up the river to find it right there in all its glory - the G.C.!! Right by Sensoji temple, in the heart of Asakusa. It's fitting that its near the temple that houses a small statue of the Buddhist goddess of mercy (well so legend says - even the temple priests have not seen it). And get this! There was an inscription saying on the Golden Carrot that anyone who holds the Carrot in the palm of their hand, and their partner who helped them on the journey of course, will forever be lucky in the job market. Not only that but the twist is there are a handful more Golden Carrots scattered around the world for others to find. (If anyone wants any tips how to plan such a trip, feel free to ask!) I can now go home happy in the knowledge that I am guaranteed to find full time employment someday soon, very soon, and whenever I wish to change career and want to reaffirm my good luck, I need only plan a new trip hunting for the other Golden Carrots scattered around the world!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb