A week in pictures: Things I have done in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 8th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Have spent the last week in Chiang Mai, Pai and Bangkok (again!), before heading into Laos. As a picture is worth a thousand words, here is a 12,000 word essay on my adventures of the past 7 days.

Things that happened but weren't captured on film:

At the cookery school, we learnt how to cook onions in a way that could burn your house down. By heating the wok to a temperature just shy of the sun's surface, and then throwing the onions in, making sure to point the wok away from your face (our teacher's eyebrows were painted on because she'd lost them in such an accident!), we created a burst of flame straight from the pan! I did manage to catch it on video, but sadly no photos.

We rented bikes to cycle to the waterfall, which was 7km uphill. Luckily for me, after 5km, my bike chain snapped, so I locked my bike to a post and walked the rest of the way. At least getting home was easy (and rapid!).

As we bathed in one of the pools just off the tiered waterfall, we saw 2 young American couples about to jump into the pool at the tier below us. Then, in full view of several tourists who were also there, they proceeded to take off all their clothes and jump in! We tried not to look, but I soon realised that one of the guys was waving at me, and beckoning me to come down. Took me a moment to realise that they wanted me to take photos on their cameras for them, so I descended down the slippery rocks and duly obliged. Weirdos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Visited the Bridge over the River KwaiVisited the Bridge over the River Kwai
Visited the Bridge over the River Kwai

Named after the book and the film of the same name
Went back in time to the 70sWent back in time to the 70s
Went back in time to the 70s

This was in Pai, hippy heaven. Everyone had tie-dye shirts, dreadlocks or pony-tails.
Enrolled on a Thai cookery courseEnrolled on a Thai cookery course
Enrolled on a Thai cookery course

Don't I look great in my apron? This was seconds before we all threw in the onions, and a 2 foot fire erupted from woks.
Don't let that face fool you, it was DISGUSTINGDon't let that face fool you, it was DISGUSTING
Don't let that face fool you, it was DISGUSTING

And I kept getting bits of leg and shell stuck in my teeth...
Went to the floating marketWent to the floating market
Went to the floating market

There are no roads so it's all on canals, you have to take a boat down it to buy anything.
This fruit stall is entirely in the boatThis fruit stall is entirely in the boat
This fruit stall is entirely in the boat

She paddles up and down all day waiting to be stopped.


19th July 2006

J'aime la Thailande !
Un voyage relaxe en Thailande, une rencontre avec un elephant sympa, une randonnee de 14 km, un gouter de sauterelles, faire son marche (accent sur le e) en bateau et pour finir apprendre a cuisiner des rouleaux de printemps, c'est une bonne vie, non ? Il faudra nous faire de la cuisine thai quand tu rentreras ! Bonne continuation et exploration de contrees inconnues pour moi. Cela fait plaisir de voir les photos ! A bientot ! Bisous xxxxx

Tot: 0.571s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb