Giant Eggs, it is whats for Breakfast


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
February 20th 2008
Published: February 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Fuji-sanFuji-sanFuji-san

Mya and I posing in front of Mt. Fuji
Nisshi! It's been two weeks since, I've updated. I don't even remember where to start again. I think I'll talk about Hakone, and of course Sweets Paradise.

Okay, so Temple set up a trip for us to go to an area of Japan called Hakone. It's a couple hours outside of Tokyo, and it a really beautiful area, with a great view of all the mountain ranges and stuff. There were a lot of nice things to see there. I actually got to kneel in on a Buddhist prayer ceremony, which was pretty interesting stuff. Then there was the world famous Hakone Open Air Museum. That place was insaannneee. It was a giant outside area filled with ridiculous sculptures and even a foot bath! I stayed at a hotel that was somewhat like a ryokan, with an onsen once again. This time is was outdoor, and we almost got in a lot of trouble when some people thought it was a good idea to yell they were going to go to the girl's onsen. It did not go over very well with the Japanese people in said onsen. Oh well, I still had a lot of fun.

Besides Hakone,
Blackened EggBlackened EggBlackened Egg

I am eating a blackened egg. They boil the egg in a hot spring, and the chemical reaction turns it black.
I really haven't been on too many adventures since we last spoke. I've been wandering around this fine city of mine and found a lot of really cool places, mostly to eat. One of those places was Sweets Paradise. Picture this, all you can eat. 90 minutes. 1500 yen (15$). Yeah AMAZING. Now picture 75% of the things you are eating being all sorts of cake and other delicious deserts. That is Sweets Paradise. Now I have been to this fine establishment twice, but the first time I was deathly ill and ate like 2 plates of food, so that doesn't count. It is an amazing place to be. If you like happiness and joy, I recommend everyone try it out at least once while on this planet of ours. I don't have pictures from there because guess what, I was eating like a madman. Well I'm sure I'll be on some sort of an adventure this weekend, so I'll write soon Nisshi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Jumpened EggJumpened Egg
Jumpened Egg

Me hippity hopping on an egg. What else needs to be said.
Weird SculptureWeird Sculpture
Weird Sculpture

one of many weird looking sculptures that were ALL over the open air museum
Spiral Staircase Spiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase

We found a really odd stain-glassed spiral staircase that led to an observation area that overlooked all of Hakone
My New FriendMy New Friend
My New Friend

While leaving, we ran into this fella, and I had to pose.
Just Hanging OutJust Hanging Out
Just Hanging Out

At the Hakone Checkpoint: an area that people passed through back in the day to get to Tokyo
Temple of a Million Stairs Temple of a Million Stairs
Temple of a Million Stairs

We climbed a couple hundred stairs to find a really beautiful Temple where I saw a real Buddhist prayer ceremony.


23rd February 2008

This all looks really cool. Wish I could go japan...nothing but labs full of bacteria for me.
24th February 2008

I went to hakone once......now I'm sad
4th April 2008

Amazing pictures. I may be taking a class on Buddhism next fall, and this has just made me very excited about it.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb