A Quick Blog


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A new kind of toiletA new kind of toiletA new kind of toilet

at ole and evangeline there were about 10 different toilet settings...everywhere else, it looks like this
Unfortunately I have only a few minutes to stay a LOT of things about Japan. I am on a computer that I can only use for ten more minutes and I cant put up pics...plus the keyboard is in japanese and I cant find all the stuff I need on here to type. Funny.

Things are so good though. I have been having a fantastic time! Dallas and I took off last Thursday for a two day hiking trip that turned in to a bit of a fiasco and I wanted to just cry and cry. We left for a little place called Oku Tama and we were going to hike the tallest peak in Tokyo. At the top there is an emergency shelter that we can stay in for free and we like that because we had no where to sleep. So we set out for Oku Tama and we got a bit mixed up on the trains and by the time we got there it was about 3:30pm. Then we took a bus to a tiny town in the middle of the mountains called Nipporo. From there we could not find the trail head so we ran into a bunch of OLD Japanese couples walking on the street away from these limestone caves and we tried to ask them where the trail head was and the guy didnt speak english so he just kept saying, No. No. No. Then we found another guy who spoke a little english and he showed us the trail head. Then they all gathered around the two very tall Americans in the middle of the street and discussed...in Japanese...whether or not we should go. From what we gathered they didnt think we should. They seemed to think it was too late...which it was...and it was too cold...which it was...and the trail was too difficult...which it was...and that we would never make it...but we disagreed about that. So they argued with us then a little old Japanese lady sized us up and agreed that we were young enough and appeared to be in peak physical condition so we could tackle that mountain no problem.

We set out on our hike...with our packs full of everything we needed for four months and some bread and apples...then we realized that those wise old Japanese people were right about a lot of things. It got dark in about an hour. It was near freezing and Dallas and I were both steaming. Dallas had a head lamp, but my flashlight died immediately. We were literally hiking straight up a hill...so steep that we had to grab vines and branches to climb up the hill...for about four hours in the dark. On top of that there were these terrible screeching deer in the woods that were just screeching away all night. It was freaking me out. Then at one point it was dark and I was scared and out of no where this eery Japanese music started playing really loudly...presumably from the village below, but if any of you know me at all you know that things creep me out pretty easily so that about did it. I wanted to stop and sleep along the way but Dallas was convinced that we should make it to the peak and find the emergency shelter to sleep in. It was a good thing we did because it started to rain.

We finally made it to the shelter and we were greeted by a little Japanese man who was also sleeping there, but didnt speak any english. We communicated enough
SignsSignsSigns

These are the signs we had to follow to find the top of the mountain...in kanji, so we had no idea what they said
though. He managed to offer us some Saki and brandy and we all settled in for a nice cold sleep. Temperatures reached freezing that night and it was quite miserable. But the next morning the man gave us some coffee and we headed back up the mountain to see the view. It really did make it all worth it. We saw a beautiful view of Mt. Fuji from the peak. We headed back down the hill and then into Oku Tama where we visited an Onsen...a traditional Japanese Hot Spring bath.

The Onsen was something else. I am about a foot taller than the women in Japan and Dallas is about two feet taller. You go in these little rooms and get naked then sit in a Japanese bath with other people. Funny stuff. It was quite an experience. Theres a lot of rules when using the onsen so I just kept watching the ladies around me to see what I was supposed to do. In the end it was a great experience, but I found out later that they are usually very uncomfortable with foreigners in the onsen and sometimes they even drain the bath after they leave. Thanks a lot guys.

That night we went back to Tokyo and realized that we had no place to stay. I got very homesick and I wanted to watch Survivor with my dad and eat moms cooking, but luckily we figured things out and Ole and Vangie allowed us to stay another night.

The next morning we went to stay with this guy Kris...who is good friends with Kevin Gerber and lives in Tokyo for work. We were locked out of his place so this very nice Macedonian girl named Biba invited us in for some coffee and to smoke a joint....no thanks Biba. We get up there and we chatted with her and her husband for a while. It was great to hang out with her and we were thankful for her hospitality, but we were both struck by how lost she was and he much she wanted something different in life. I invited her to church, but she said no because they are orthodox and her husband would not approve. Please pray for Biba and her husband Dragan because they are just so so lost.

Then we got to go to church!!! What a blessing. On the way there we had a hard time finding it and I was just praying and praying that we would find it then I was praying and praying that I wouldnt react sinfully if we couldnt find it because I just knew I would be so sad, then we found it: Tokyo Baptist Church. Familiar music and familiar message. I really couldnt help myself from crying when we got in there because it was such a wonderful thing to be across the world from everything that I love and be in a place where I could worship Christ with people who are likeminded and who are headed for the same Heaven. I distinctly remember thinking that Jesus could return at that moment and I would be pleased to go up with those people. I was shocked by how good the message was too. He brought it for sure. He spoke on Matthew 7 regarding the foundation of rock and sand. He basically said, if you do not do what Christ says, you really need to look at your life and examine whether or not you are saved. Wow...not the sort of sermon that people like to hear. After church we met this great couple from North Carolina who recently moved to Tokyo because of business. They plan to spend two years there then go back home. Dallas really enjoyed talking sports and laughing with Patrick and I was so happy to talk with his wife about her new life in Tokyo. All in all, church was a huge blessing and we were in new spirits after that.

From there we headed out to Shizouka. We took a four hour train ride south of Tokyo and ended up in Hamamatsu where we are now. On the way there I got to see the other side of the Pacific ocean. See, I am not so far away. We are staying with a fantastic english teacher from the great land of Canada named Darryl. He is so great! The town where he lives has about 20,000 brazilians and peruvians living here. He took us out to excellent brazilian food where we met his two brazilian friends Clay and Syl. They are so great! They have a wonderful sense of humor and they are so warm and friendly...nothing like the Japanese! We got hugs and kisses and they were not afraid to repay our sarcasm with a little of their own. Dallas felt right at home talking about the jungle. It really was such a blessing.

Today we visited their english school and we are going to find out some info about going hiking tomorrow. Clay really wants to come with us and we hope to talk Syl into it, but she hates the outdoors. We might trick her into coming...say we are going for a walk or something.

When I get the chance I will add photos of Funji San and our torturous...er, beautiful hike. Thursday we leave for Singapore and then we get to see some jungle in Malaysia and Sumatra. Thanks for your prayers and your comments! It is so good to read your replies. Please continue to pray for safe travels and pray that we will have more opportunities for fellowship. Christians are few and far between out here. I really feel like the Lord is teaching me to get out of my comfort zone and depend on him. It really is less fun then I thought it would be...can I say that?...but more challenging. I appreciate the experience so much.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



27th November 2006

ohhh sister b....
sister-is it ok to laugh.... and i quote, "terrible screeching deer in the woods that were just screeching away all night. It was freaking me out. Then at one point it was dark and I was scared and out of no where this eery Japanese music started playing really loudly." ohhh wow sister...praise God..i am currently laughing....ohhh...wow, i'm glad you're ok. wow. -E
27th November 2006

uhh
i just love your story-telling becky. i can just imagine you and dallas making that hike...oh man well i'm glad for you that you're on this trip. what a crazy thing...you'll look back an think "what? i did that?!" i feel like i sound like my grandma right now. say hello to dallas for me please. have a sweet day! love, stina
27th November 2006

I miss you.
I was so excited to get up this morning and check my e-mail. Reading your blog made me cry...I miss you. So glad that you and Dallas have found others to fellowship with. I be praying for both of you. Love Mom
27th November 2006

glad to be caught up
Dallaaaaax and Becca, wow what fun adventures already! So exciting. Thank you (Becca) for keeping up with this blogging thing. I feel like I'm sharing the trip in some way with you. You articulate so well. Dal, shoot an email at some point in 4 mos. love you, Aimers
27th November 2006

Growth
Becky: It is so good to hear how God is working in your life on this trip specifically. It sounds as though He is bringing you into the lives of people He is really wanting to reach. Know that you are planting strong seeds of growth in them, as God is growing a strong woman of Christ in you. I am so glad you are on this journey...spiritually as well as physically. Continue to keep your eyes open to opportunities for growth, not only in you, but in those who God puts in your path. God love you girl...can't wait for the next blog. Dena
27th November 2006

It's Dallas' sister!
Becky, though you do not know me, I felt it ok to write a little comment seeing as though you are traveling with my little bro, so I guess you DO know me!! :) I am so grateful that you are keeping a blog and so entertainingly (is that even a word?) keeping us up on what you two are doing, knowing full well that although dallas has full intentions of writing a blog, it will probably never happen! Thank God it's not just him, I'd never even know if he made it to LAX to leave!!! It sounds like you guys are having a blast. Good for you! tell dallas that I say hi and that of course I miss him. continue to be safe and I will be praying for both of you as you continue your journey. God bless, Carissa
28th November 2006

Thinking of you
Only you could do this Becky! I am so proud of you! My thoughts and prayers are with you and Dallas. Have fun and stay safe. I love you and look forward to hearing more stories! Luv Aunt Kathy
28th November 2006

OOOHHHH - I'm loving hearing all this great stuff!
I'm just getting the hang of how this blog works! I almost missed the newest entry, and am so thankful I didn't! Becky, you sure crammed alot of excitement into those 10 minutes on the computer! I can just hear Dallas, "C'mon Becky, just ignore the screeching deer!" What an answer to my prayers that God is providing contacts along the way and you are seeing His hand every day. We are all loving the blogging and are waiting anxiously to read the next one! Love, Mom
28th November 2006

I'm sooo jealous!!!
Becky, I totally meant to get in contact with you before you left the States, but of course I forgot with all the craziness that's come my way the end of this semester. Any way, I wanted to let you know that if you ever get in a bind and don't have a place to stay, let me know because being a YWAMer gives you the benefit of LOTS of friends ALL Over the World! =) If you need a place in Cambodia, I have some really amazing friends over there, who could hook you up. But yeah, I'm pretty much jealous of the adventures experienced and those yet to come for you in the next couple of months. I'm sure you'll have fun, but it sure does have to come at a cost. Be encouraged, I am praying for you! Another question (Sorry this is soo long) I'm going back to the Big Island for Christmas break and it looks like accomodations for a few of my days may have fallen through and am wondering what the story is with this couchsurfing network...is it legit, how exactly does it work? Well, my dear friend, keep on pressing on! Joy P.S. I totally know what you mean about going up to heaven with those people next to you, there's something so very delightful about worshiping the Lord among diversity and I'm sure it brings great joy to Him as He receives such a beautiful form of worship! =)
28th November 2006

Wow
Becky this is so amazing that you are out there doing all of this. I can't believe it! I loved reading your blog it is like a story out of a book. It just doesn't seem like my cousin is really out there. I wish I could be as brave as you. I can't wait for the next story. Be safe and have lots of fun! Luv ya
29th November 2006

Jealous
I'm loving reading the stories of your travels! I find myself living my dreams through you of traveling far parts of the world just because. How I long for an adventure! I've been praying for your travels and your well being. Joshua is long over but i still consider you family and i worry about all you girls way too much. Well just remember in those troublesome times, that Home is safe yet dull, and there are people back home (myself) that wish they could be hiking in the rain in Japan instead of sleeping in a bed until its time for work again. Believe it or not I think of you often, and miss you a ton . I owe you a dinner when you get back! -Erik
29th November 2006

hey this is dallas's "friend" brian. i say "friend" because neither he or myself keep in touch with each other even though we both have every intention to, were just too lazy. i heard about your adventures through my mom who heard them from dallas's mom. im glad to hear that your trip is going so great so far and i will keep you two in my prayers as you continue your trip throughout the next few months. brian tell dallas- gluck, gluck...
30th November 2006

I'm not jealous
I really am not jealous of your hike up into the mountain in the total darkness nor am I jealous of the creepy Japanese music filling up the mountainous space around you. I am jealous of Dallas getting all of your time. Does he have a blog or a place where he posts his pics? 'Cause you see, I'd like to see them.
4th December 2006

wait...dallas...in pants?!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb