Day 09: Tokyo (Jul 2018)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
July 16th 2018
Published: September 22nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 16th July 2018

Early this morning, after a hearty breakfast at Dormy Inn, I accompanied YP to the Cocoon Tower at Shinjuku where she boarded her tour bus to Mount Fuji. For myself, I decided to stay in Tokyo today to explore a few more sites. This was our last day in Japan before flying back the following day. I was determined to make full use of my remaining day for some sightseeing in the city.

Armed with a Tokyo Metro 24-hour Ticket, my first stop for the day was Oji Station where I paid a visit to the Asukayama Park. This was where a life-size decommissioned bright-yellow locomotive is housed. Next up was the train journey to the Kudanshita station. This is an important station where the massive Nippon Budokan (where The Carpenters held their sold out concert in 1974), the National Showa Memorial Museum, the Yasukuni Shrine and the Yushukan (War Museum) are housed. I had the time today to visit the Showa Museum as well as the Yushukan before lunch at the nearby Royal Host.

In the afternoon, my train commute brought me to Kamiyacho Station where the NHK Museum of Broadcasting is located. As the Museum is located at the top of the hilly neighbourhood, my main access point was via the Atagoyama Elevator facility.

After stopping briefly at Ginza station, I soon made my way to the Old Shimbashi Station Railway History Exhibition Hall. Converted out of the disused Shimbashi Station, the exhibits told the story of the station as well as showcasing some old train pictures of Shinjuku back in the 1960s. This was followed by a pitstop at Doutor cafe before heading back to the hotel for a quick refresh.

My final stop for the evening brought me to the grounds of Akihabara for some shopping actions before heading back to Dormy Inn for my last onsen bath for this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb