All Good Things.......


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 17th 2013
Published: August 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tokyo at nightTokyo at nightTokyo at night

If you are ever in Japan, you really need to go to Shinjiku or Shibuya or Akihabara at night.
The whirlwind tour of Japan is coming to a close. The night before we all hit up a karaoke bar to sing some tunes. To be honest, it was my very first karaoke experience. And the first song? In the middle of "Bohemian Rhapsody" by Queen someone handed me the mic and I was on. "Thunderbolt and lightning, very very frightening me! Galileo! Galileo!" I ended up singing a few songs, "Rollercoaster" by the Chili Peppers and "I Walk The Line" by Johnny Cash. It was actually a lot more fun than I thought it would be.

Yesterday I did some shopping but I think the long days and the heat finally caught up with me and I spent a good chunk of the day sleeping. In the evening a few of us went to a place called "Maisen", which made awesome pork cutlets. It was a great dinner to close the trip on.

Today we fly back to the States. So as I wrap up this trip, I get to do a bit of reflecting on my time in Japan. Even though this trip was fast and furious, short on sleep and long on heat, it was a
Ramen and gyozaRamen and gyozaRamen and gyoza

Best I have ever had!!
blast. I was very fortunate to have been invited. The things we were able to do and the places we stayed were way beyond what I would ever be able to do myself. In fact, it's pretty safe to say I will most likely never have the opportunity to do most (if not all) of them ever again.

Japan is an intriguing place. A lot of the people will nod at us, but it almost seems like they avoid foreigners. Once you start talking to them, though, they are very engaging and personable. Japanese businesses and restaurants define customer service. They are almost overly polite, and anything you purchase they will spend extra time with you to make sure you are satisfied with the purchase, even taking everything out of the box to show you it's in perfect shape. The society is very efficient, too, from the way the construct their buildings to their transportation system. There are departments stores 7 floors tall with different types of product on every floor, or little alleys with stores and awesome little eateries on each floor. Their train and bus system will get you wherever you want to go and is ALWAYS
What's this?What's this?What's this?

Oh, it's just Sprite.
on time.

Japan is a society that embraces technology and is always looking to improve, but still holds onto its traditions as well. People still wear the traditional clothes and stay in traditional hotels, but there are plenty of modern amenities as well.

Anyway, enough of the overview of Japan. Let's just say that I enjoyed myself immensely and I really want to go back (when it's cooler). There is so much to see and do there. For both of you reading this blog, let me know if you have questions and I will answer as best I can. Thanks for reading! Now it's time for me to get some sleep....

Of course, I would be remiss if I didn't offer up a HUGE THANK YOU to Craig and Teresa for taking me on this trip. The memories will last forever, as will my gratitude!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

TGI Fridays?TGI Fridays?
TGI Fridays?

Yup, they have them here. This was in an alley, like a lot of places here. Also saw KFC's, Burger Kings, an El Torito, McDonald's (everywhere)... but didn't eat at any!
Garlic Meat Beast!!!Garlic Meat Beast!!!
Garlic Meat Beast!!!

I have no idea what this really was. I didn't try it. It looked like some kind of burger, but it scared me. Plus I already had eaten.
Vending machinesVending machines
Vending machines

There are vending machines on nearly every block here. They sell everything from cigarettes to sodas to hot soup to water to beer (yes, beer you can buy walking down the street). This one sold bananas.
LunchLunch
Lunch

This place you had to go to a vending machine, punch the item you wanted and take a ticket to where they gave you the food. This meal cost me $6.
Karaoke nightKaraoke night
Karaoke night

Jam time.
TokyoTokyo
Tokyo

This view was from the hotel room in the Park Hyatt.
MaisenMaisen
Maisen

That's the restaurant name, and this pork cutlet just was the best thing ever.


18th August 2013

All things considered...
Chris, I'm glad you had a great trip! It looks like you got the royal (errr...imperial) treatment : ). I honestly enjoyed reading about your time there, thanks for sharing. It made me think of my time stationed there. I may have spend three years there, but I would venture to say you got a lot more out of that two weeks there than I did in many regards. I always hoped that when the family came from Cali that you would have too. My door is always open. If you feel like coming out to Virginia, again the door is open. There is plenty to see and do: Philly, DC, Maryland are all a short drive away. Connie and Paul Sr. will be here next weekend. Take care, God Bless. Rich
18th August 2013
Maisen

Just wanted to thank you, Chris, for all the effort you went to to keep us updated on what you were doing and seeing on your trip. It was fun to hear about all your adventures, and see all the places you visited. It made me almost feel like I was there, too!
18th August 2013

Welcome home
Chris, Your Mother and I thoroughly enjoyed reading all of your blogs about your Japan trip. It sounded like the trip of a lifetime, and all of your writings and photos were very interesting. Although I know you are probably sad to have the trip over, we are both glad you made it home safe and sound. Odin and Kura will be happy, too. I hope your wish comes true and that sometime in the near future you will be able to return there on another vacation.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb