Disney Here, Disney There, Disney Everywhere


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 14th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's a Small WorldIt's a Small WorldIt's a Small World

Who doesn't like this ride?
Today was an all-Disney day. We headed out by bus (air-conditioned and blissful, of course) to the park. Part of our package included a tour guide for three hours, which got you into the "fast pass" lane. That basically meant you had a separate line you could use to get onto rides faster. I probably shouldn't mention that our tour guide was beautiful Japanese women and spoke perfect English, but I am going to anyway.

I believe I mentioned in an earlier post that I thought the entire population of Japan was visiting Universal Studios while we were there. I was wrong. They saved that for Disney day. Of course, everyone was polite and amazing! No thugs trying to pick fights or giving people the stink eye! So much different than America. Everyone there was just having a good time.

During the first three hours we managed to ride Winnie the Pooh, Monsters Inc, Splash Mountain, Thunder Mountain and It's a Small World. After that, we could no longer get the express seating and would have to wait in line like everybody else. The problem with that was that wait times averaged 160-200 minutes. Yes, that is correct, you
Disney SeaDisney SeaDisney Sea

Part of the Mediterranean area.
had to wait 3 hours or more to ride one ride. So we were fortunate that the fast pass let us get in five rides in the amount of time it would take to get on one.

Part of our package gave us access to go from Disneyland to Disney Sea. I wasn't so hot on going to Disney Sea as I thought it was going to be something like a sea park with ocean animals doing tricks. Boy was I wrong. Disney Sea was awesome! It was a theme park loaded with different scenes/areas, like Cape Cod, Mediterranean, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Indiana Jones, etc. Each one was done with great detail and was very enjoyable to view, with different music for each theme along with sound effects.

I made the mistake of leaving one group in Disneyland thinking that I would find everyone else in Disney Sea. I wandered around for five hours and never saw anyone I knew. I kinda looked like a little kid wandering around a department store looking for his parents. Except I am not little. And I wasn't crying or anything, so don't get that idea. It didn't matter, though,
Disney Sea showDisney Sea showDisney Sea show

The night show had fireworks and lights, but both shows had all sorts of boats zipping around.
I had a great time just taking everything in and watching a couple shows they had out on the water.

The best thing about Disney Sea was the weather. Man, oh man, was it nice. The temperature dropped and the wind picked up and it was like being in heaven. People probably thought it was weird when I would turn into the wind, spread my arms and yell "I'm king of the world!!!" It was a nice break from all the humidity and recharged the batteries a bit. Anyway, big thumbs up for Disney Sea Japan!!

Before I go, I need to wish my father a happy birthday! If you don't know him, he's a pretty fantastic guy and I wish I could have shared some of these experiences over here with him and my mother and sister.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cape CodCape Cod
Cape Cod

Part of Disney Sea, this was the Columbia, you could go on the upper deck to hang out and it had a restaurant and a bar.
Tower of TerrorTower of Terror
Tower of Terror

That tall building in the background is actually a ride. I didn't go on it, I was too terrified. Actually, the lines were too long.
Disney shipDisney ship
Disney ship

Another part of the park you could explore.
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Jules Verne would have been proud.


17th August 2013

Looks like fun!
Just wanted to let you know that it has been hitting 100 degrees here for the last few days and supposedly for the next few as well. So while you are over there in the heat we are having it here too!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb