Japan is like a warm blanket


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 6th 2013
Published: August 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Driving into TokyoDriving into TokyoDriving into Tokyo

If you look closely, you can see the humidity. No, really! Can you see it?
Japan IS like a warm blanket. A warm, wet blanket that they throw on you as soon as you get off the plane. At least, that is Japan in August. "Hello, sir! Welcome to Japan! Do you like hot, steamy action? Great! Because that describes our weather today! What's that? You want your shirt to stay dry more than two minutes? Hey, Kenchi, this guy wants his shirt to stay dry! HAHAHAHA! Americans..." It is very humid here, but that can't diminish the excitement I feel to be here. When we began our final approach to the airport, the plane dipped its wing a bit and out of the window I saw green fields - my first view of Japan! Got our luggage and made it through customs in about 15 minutes, which must be a record. Good thing, too, because someone decided to leave the air conditioning off in the airport. Our guide for the bus that was picking us up was waiting for us, but Ronn's dad got stopped right out of the gate by a TV crew that wanted to do an interview. They obviously didn't know they were standing between me and an air-conditioned bus - a
View from 44th FloorView from 44th FloorView from 44th Floor

I think I can see my house from here!
dangerous spot to be.

We hit the road and began the drive from Narita Airport to our hotel in Tokyo. Everything here is green! The trees look different. Everything seems orderly and clean. Even the commercial trucks driving around were all clean. After about an hour we pulled into Tokyo. It's such a huge city. It just stretches on and on. As we were pulling into our hotel parking lot, there was a loud humming that sounded like some high voltage power lines. Evidently they are from a swarm of beetles that hang out in the trees - they get to be 6-8 inches long from what I was told. Hope I don't run into any of them. A beetle that big would probably win if we went fisticuffs.

So we are staying at the Park Hyatt Tokyo. Let me tell you, this hotel is SERIOUS! If you ever saw the Bill Murray "Lost In Translation" movie, then you have seen the hotel we are in. Check out the photos to see some details. It's definitely too high class for me. I feel like a high roller but I am dressed like it's a Super 6. What's the
TubTubTub

I'm not sure if it's a tub or a swimming pool but I like it.
international term? Ugly American? The room is on the 44th floor, and the view from the room you can see Tokyo stretching on forever. There is a big tub in the room, but the best thing is the toilet, or washlet as they call them here. It's got more buttons than a TV remote. The seat is warmed electronically before you sit on it and it's got warm water jets and all sorts of bells and whistles. If I could fall in love with an appliance, it would be this. The only thing it doesn't do is play a tune like "God Save the Queen" when you are using it, but I bet you could get one that does. Anyway, enjoy the pics. We are heading out to Shinjuku to do some shopping in a bit. More to come later!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Future Mrs. Chris MalysiakThe Future Mrs. Chris Malysiak
The Future Mrs. Chris Malysiak

Yes, I am sorry, Mom and Dad, but your new daughter-in-law is going to be a Japanese toilet. I love her.
Toilet ControlsToilet Controls
Toilet Controls

So much fun to figure out! Wait, did I say that out loud?
Night viewNight view
Night view

From room.


6th August 2013

Rapoongi District
Chris, make sure to hit a night up there. You won't be disappointed. Hotel looks amazing ($$!)
6th August 2013

Thank, Richie! If we get a chance I think we will try to get there. Hope all is well with you.
6th August 2013

Super Excited For YOU!!!!
Awesome pics Chris!!! I know you are going to have a blast! Can't wait to read more on your adventure through Japan. Hugs!
7th August 2013

After you arrive in the hot and humid weather you can head to your room for a nice hot bath, heated toilet seat and possibly a warm beverage of some sort. Hmm, I am sensing a theme here. Have a great time!
7th August 2013

Glad to see you are having fun already.
And to think, all that fun from just a toilet. Wait until you get out side. Have a great time, and send some pics.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb