My First Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Setagaya
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

my roommy roommy room

My room
So here I am. The flights went off alright. Luckily I slept through most of it.

I think I'm gonna like it here...my host family is absolutely amazing. They could be the nicest people in the world. The father and mother are very helpful. They speak a little english so that helps when I get in a tough spot. The two daughters are great and the little brother, Koji, is a ball of energy. He goes to an international school and speaks the most English. I'm already getting beaten down by Japanese but I could expect that. Steep learning curve. I'll come around soon enough. I met the Father and Yuka, oldest daughter in the airport and they brought me to their house, about an hour away. The neighborhood is dense, but safe and the neighbors are all friendly. There always seems to be someone over at the house. Tom-san is a local acrobat and performer. We will be seeing him on the 18th. He went out to dinner with us (more on that later). I told my host mother about how I loved food and cooking and she introduced me to the people across the street, the Takahashi's. They run a professional kitchen and prepare bento boxes. Once I get to know the language a little more I think my host mother is going to get me in there a few times. I can't wait. I have my own room, here are the pictures. It's small, but I didn't expect anything bigger. One of the things the family keeps saying/apologizing for is the crowdedness and smallness of Japan. I keep telling them don't worry about it.

So for dinner...
We went out to a Japanese steakhouse for a large and traditional meal. There were many many little courses, capped with a hibachi-style steak. We started with a small portion of consumme, carrot mousse, and uni (sea urchin on my first night!!). Then there was salad, a tuna tartare, an onion and pepper salad topped with a poached quail egg, then garlic rice, then the steak, mushrooms, and a delicious vegetable that was some cross between bamboo and something else (according to host mother). Best vegetable I ever tasted. We had tea, miso soup, and lastly, vanilla ice cream with a berry sauce and silken tofu. I learned today that silken tofu is a popular dessert in the summer. I need to take pictures of the food next time we go out. Everything was delicious. I am so full.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb