First night... a success?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I guess the first day night was a success because I am here at my youth hostel, able to tell about it.

The flights were uneventful overall, when I boarded the flight to Tokyo from my stopover in Detroit, we sat on the plane for a while while maintenance walked around checking things. The plane was hit by lightening earlier that day, they just wanted to make sure everything was okay- very considerate of them.

From landing, my mission was simple: get to youth hostel.
I had to take one train (Keisi Line from Narita to Aoto) and transfer to another to get to Asakusa, where the youth hostel is a 'short' walk away. Short, that is, assuming you have the map that you printed out before you left home and you didnt forget it on the printer.

Long story short(er)- wrong train- twice- only to find out that both times I had been right, just the train map I was following wasn't detailed enough. Then I wondered around Asakusa partially looking for the youth hostel and really trying to get it into my head that Im in real japan and not Little-Tokyo in new york city. seriously- its not as easy as it sounds, its hard to grasp that im on the island of japan across the world from america.

After going the wrong way for a while- I asked some random hotel clerk who, when I ask him to show me on my map where I am, points a few inches off the side of the book. Walking all the way back to an intersection where I made a wrong turn- wandered around more- finally just went up to a random guy on the street and said '"english?" and he said "guest house?"and i said yes. and he showed me there nearest one was= which was owned by the same company as the one I was looking for, and they gave me directions here.

Thats all for now, going to go to sleep and get up early for the Fish Market tomorrow

sayonara (goodbye)
~mark

Advertisement



4th July 2007

wow
You're going to a Japanese fish market? I'm so jealous! Please,please,PLEASE take photos! Especially the giant tunafish and the bidders. have fun! :D
5th July 2007

i hope that i'm doing this right and you are getting my comments- will right again enjoy and be safe
5th July 2007

Mark, This is so exciting! You must have been thinking to yourself: I am getting lost in Japan! If there's anywhere to get lost, it must be Japan! That's what I would have been thinking. Also, please post pictures. Also, tell me about your meals! I love japanese food! Jealous but happy for you, Ellice
6th July 2007

marky-son...
hey buddy- i hope your travels are going well. i heard from mom that you left a msg at home, but i didnt hear anything about a visit to the arcade parlors... you better get on that! i bet by now you are knee deep in sushi and wondering why you have never eaten this wonderful delicacy before. or maybe by now you've decided to stay in japan, abandoning china and india, to accept a position as diaper boy for the national sumo champion. in any event, i hope you having a sick time and enjoying everything to its extent. be safe. love you.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb