STY '14: Journey to the finish line


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka » Mt Fuji
April 26th 2014
Published: May 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Jetlag woke me up by 4a, no! At 7:15, we checked out and reached Gotenba station right on time at 7:45. 3 buses were waiting along with a long line of participants. It was getting more real than ever!! Although the check in process seemed inefficient, our bus left at 8:15 and arrived at Kodomo no kuni ahead of the schedule. We must have walked a good mile of uphill to the event setup...so uncalled for...huff puff. Shige-san spotted us right away. He had arrived 20min earlier and already had pitched a picnic. We had to proceed to check-in. Check in to get the race packet was fast but the next step was a long wait, airport security style. We had to go through impromptu 6-item mandatory gear spot-check. Missing anything could lead to DQ. I got my wrist band for approval. It was 10am. Anxiety was building up but still had 2hrs to go til the moment of truth. 11:30, we were called to the starting area for the opening ceremony. 12p sharp, the gun went off and it started. This is the moment we've been working for for the past 4 month! When it's finally here, it's not even sinking in. In any case, I was running.

My target was not to go under 10min/mi for the first 16 miles where it was gradual downhill. The worst sin I can commit is to go out too fast. I came this far, don't $&@k it up. I kept telling that every time I was remotely getting sucked into the crowd. Vinh was close, good. At mile 8, we came to the first water-only aid station. I felt good and no need for top-off just yet. Vinh was right by me. To my surprise, he beat my "good job" with his intention to stop. He looked solid. I was sad and wasn't ready for that decision but considering what happened, it's probably wise. I'm glad he was being rational. But since supporters didn't have access to that AS, he agreed to continue to the next AS at mile 16 where Shige-san awaits. The road became narrower and slightly more technical and I lost Vinh. I found Shige san in the crowd at AS2. It was getting warm. I grabbed 8 orange slivers and chocopan and filled up one of the bottles that was almost empty. Shige san showed me to
To the start lineTo the start lineTo the start line

Kodomono kuni. Almost Kodomo no hi.
his setup (totally legit!!), ate some more, made potty stop and continued my way knowing that Vinh was in good hands.

This is where things get rough. I knew that the race would come down to how much I'll have left after the next section. The profile map showed steep 2miles up. It would be crucial not to do stupid things like, god-forbid, running up the hill. Shortly after the aid station, I started to see more 168km runners. Understandably they looked pretty winded as they had already ran 24hrs and 60miles. I can't imagine being in their shoes. The road suddenly entered a hiking path going up. The sign said Tenkodake. Ooo, here we go. Easy hike up the single track took us to the point where the volunteers awaited. A lady was holding the sign indicating that the uphill is just starting into more steep stretch. I didn't want to believe her but she couldn't have been more correct. The slope took a sharp incline. Switch back was backed up. It probably did me a favor tracking the tired legs of UTMF runners. It was nothing but discouraging to see switch back full of people way high above me. My GPS watch logged 45min/mi, half the speed of normal walking!! Distance just wouldn't change. 2miles of switch back, 1.5hrs later and half bottle of water later, I finally got to the peak! There were more volunteers there who pitched tents to cheer for us. For the next 5 miles, it was constant steep up and down stretches. I ran whenever I could although it was never a long stretch. Downhill was equally as hard as the uphill. I was cursing the profile map for being too accurate.

Fumoto AS was hustling and bustling. Supporters were blocked off behind the fence. I heard my name and I spotted Vinh & Shige san. Poor thing, they were shivering. I was still ok with just the ghost wind breaker but must have been freezing to just stand there in a make shift tent. Later found out that the runner tracker spit out projected time at each AS. Projection was hrs off for other people and I was 2 hrs behind!! Still, I was in a good spirit and felt like I left enough reserve to tackle the second half. I grabbed 8 orange slivers and 3 chocopans. Vinh helped me fill up both of my water bottles which were almost empty.

The next section was slight up with a sharp needle in the middle. Profile looked smaller than what I just went through. Should be doable, I got this. The path took us along what-seemed-to-be a creek in darkness. I jogged when I could although it was hard at times running on big pebbles in the dark. Then it came. The same upward switchback as the saw-tooth of death. I could see the trail of lights along the switchback above me. It was demoralizing. I had one and only choice to goat pace it up. At this point, it wasn't about pacing myself anymore. It was about doing what I could. I was feeling numb already or perhaps surrendered to the reality. Eventually, I reached the volunteers with the tents. Yes, downhill from here...right? Nooo?? He said "Tooge". I knew how to write in kanji but forgot what it meant, fail! What was it?! My mind was taking a dump and I was just hoping that it meant top. But I was conscious enough to know that it was a wishful thinking. Downhill wasn't even that enjoyable because it was steep again and also because it was ending shortly. Sure enough, switchback returned shortly like a bad dream. More of the view of headlamp traced zig zag continued. Finally reached the top and began more of that slow downhill. Profile on this pointy hump looked less steep than the saw-tooth of death but it was still too sharp especially for the spent legs. But shut up, keep calm and move forward. Eventually, I heard the volunteers. Must mean bottom!! The course took a turn into the road. This was where the course took a turn around Motosuko instead of sending us by Aokigahara forest. Very runnable yet my legs weren't up for it. Sleepiness started to haunt me. Jetlag. It had been working for me in Europe because their night time falls on day time in Cali. This time, it was a different story. Miscalculated. Motosuko AS should be close. I tried to hop a bit but it felt uncomfortably awkward. I was finally able to jog when the AS was approaching and I whipped myself. I needed incentive and extra push. To think that I was still at 2/3 of the way, I was not, in any stretch of imagination, in a good shape. How am I going to do 30 more km with more humps??

Motosuko AS was a rush hour train. Runners and supporters were shubbed in a small building. It was getting cold in my windbreaker and I definitely needed the warmth. But it was almost impossible to get around that place. Tarp floor was wet and it was being swept. I grabbed minobu manju and few chocolate covered almonds. I didn't drink much in this stretch but I topped both bottles for good measure. I went to bathroom and noticed my black hands. It was from falling and ropes. I tried to scrub it off but it was caked on pretty good. Oh well. I didn't see Vinh or Shige. I called his cell. It seems that they, too, had a tough time parking to get to this mess. I came earlier than the projected time, which was surprising. It had already been 12hrs since the start and I still had 1/3 to go. I told Vinh over the phone that I'm ok but it's getting cold and sleepy. I'll try to finish. What do you mean try, you've gotta finish! That hit me. I didn't even realize what I was saying and I was in awe of the support I had. It was going to be a long night for all of us.

I put on the next layer, rain jacket and off I went. Boom. Literally just behind the AS was uphill, not even a switchback. Climbing straight upwards. I could only take it slow and slow walk invited sleepiness. When I realized that my eyelids were closing, I leaned on a tree and closed my eyes for a minute. When I did that for the 3rd time or so, I must have conked out standing. I heard a voice asking me if I'm alright. Get it together! Since I've already submitted to the uphills, it was hard but it eventually came to an end...for a brief moment anyway. After a short rolling section, emerged in front of me was dark wall with headlamp zig zag...nooo ·(o)·. Really? Seriously? Dadgammit. There were more and more UTMF runners stopping. I was still able to move forward and I take it! Suddenly I started hearing a voice. I couldn't make of it in the beginning but slowly it became clear. "パノラマ台までもう少しでーす。頑張ってくださーい!" Oh my god, I'm almost at the peak!! It game a extra oomph. It's gonna be all down from there!! The voice became louder and louder. Amazing, he might lose his voice tomorrow. Really appreciate the effort! I finally reached the peak...only to find out that there'll be one more before the descent...arrrgh, can't win. Fine.

At the bottom sun was rising and we were shot out onto the streets. Police men were directing us at the intersection. He said 8km to the next AS. Since I didn't have the map memorized (it's hard without being there), I wasn't sure if I heard 1km. 8 and 1 sound similar in Japanese. I was definitely hoping for 1km. But when the road took a wide turn and I didn't see any sign of anything, except for people way ahead, I knew 8 was the right answer 😞. I also noticed my watch being dead. It was ~4am. Still, I found my ability to jog. Some jog n walk later, I couldn't believe what I saw! Shige san!! He jogged me in for a few miles to his car where Vinh was. We came this far. I had to finish. I had to finish!!! The last AS at Narusawa was a bit further ahead. Roadside info indicated 2C. It was freezing. My hands were stiff. Dang, I forgot to swap watch with Vinh... I called Shige san hoping that the haven't gone too far yet. They came right back and met me at the AS while I was putting on my last layer, down jacket, and gloves with my frozen hands. Thank you!! It helped me gauge the distance for the last section. I got a warm drink and chocopan for a good measure. And after the last potty stop, off I went.

It should be just about 8 miles to go. Granted it won't be flat, I will finish. I was hoping for 7am finish but 8am was more realistic. We got to Kouyoudai, beginning of the last hump, It suddenly got warm. Knowing that there were still miles left and I couldn't afford any bit of wasted energy, I stripped down to short sleeve. I had no energy to run the slightest incline. I wanted to go faster but I couldn't. I swear we were going in circles (but we weren't. Was I that delusional?) 8am was fast approaching!! Am I even going to make my conservative projection? My god, so daunting. Does that make a 20-hr run? Unreal. 5k more ...2k down, 3k flat. Can I make it? We exited the trail onto the paved path along Kawaguchiko. Finish should be near. Can I make it by 8am?? This is it. I don't need to leave any juice behind. Surprisingly, I was cranking 10:30 pace. I hadn't seen that pace since the initial 16-mile flat section. Leave nothing behind! Go go go! The path along the lake seemed forever. The finish shoot should be here any time now but all I saw was turns and runners ahead. Where is the arch? Suddenly, I saw the familiar faces and more spectators. Is it finally here? Spectators were reaching out for high-five. I appreciated it and raised hand but I was too exhausted for it. Where is the damn arch?

At the finish line, master Kaburaki san was there to greet us! It was bright and warm morning. It had been a long night for all of us. It must have been such a relief for Shige san & Vinh too. I was looking for food but the tent had what AS had. As good as those chocopans were, they were the last thing I wanted. We picked up our luggage, got on the next bus to the parking lot and we were off. Anywhere but here!

Shige san took us to the other side of town to Hottarakashi Onsen. It's on the hilltop and very easy-going. We couldn't have reached here without car. What a treat. Dipping in hot water overlooking Japanese Alps was nothing but luxury. After some time, I felt dizzy for hunger. Trust me, I would have loved to stay longer. On the way back, Shige san took us to the roadside restaurant that serve Houtou & Kamameshi. This is where I leaned about Houtou, Yamanashi regional specialty. Love it. It's hearty and gigantic. I killed it of course. Finally, Shige san dropped us off at our lodging before he took off for his long journey back home. Things would have been very difficult and different without him and I have nothing but appreciation!! Our lodging was in a traditional Japanese house. We had kotatsu in our room too, yay. I tried to fight the sleepiness so I'd sleep at night but I couldn't . After a nap, we went to supermarket, picked up more food. I have no problem sleeping again 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 31


Advertisement

ChocopanChocopan
Chocopan

My fuel for the night


Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb