FruitsPunchoSamurai


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Otsu
September 24th 2011
Published: September 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Good day! Although it kind of feels like morning since I didn't get up until 12 due to some intoxication last night at the Omiya-so dormitories. I also managed the biggest failure of the year by mixing what I thought was a white russian but was really kahlua, vodka and yoghurt, not the kind that tastes good. I only realised my mistake after several attempts to neutralize what I thought was just too much kahlua, using even more yoghurt. Sadly enough, Zach was also a casualty in this catastrophe and has probably lost all faith in my drink mixing capabilities.

The last few days have been filled with classes and studying japanese, which has not been the easiest task in the world. It almost feels like I'm expected to learn two different sets of the japanese alphabet, hiragana and katakana, during the course of a week. Trying my best but need to plan out my days so that I still have time for other stuff. For example, I think we're going to Kyoto today, once everyone are awake, for "sightseeing". Not sure which sights exactly, but I guess it'll all become clear later on the train from Seta.

Unfortunately I missed two classes that I really wanted to try this week, because of the typhoon that passed near the Kansai area. I and a few others had already made our way to the campus when we discovered that all classes were cancelled, something which was not made public until 10 and the first class was supposed to have been at 9.20. There was nothing for it but to trudge back to the bus stop and slowly making our way home to the dormitories, getting soaked on the way, courtesy of said typhoon.

Two classes that I did manage to visit and that I enjoyed very much were "Asian imaginings of Asia" and "International relations C", both of which were very interesting and should provide a nice contrast to the language lessons. Would be hard for me to study just language, considering I like subjects where you can interpret, discuss and reason without too many strict boundaries. I'm guessing these are the classes which I will enjoy the most, for now at least.

The weather is also improving since the typhoon, being somewhat cooler and adapted to my, and some of the other's, scandinavian taste. Now you an actually walk or ride your bike somewhere without getting soaked right away. Now I shall endeavour to devour some rice and drink some coffee. May your white russians never taste of yoghurt!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb