FruitsPunchoSamurai: Drinking parties and karaoke


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Marutamachi
September 19th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I haven't written in a couple of days, since I have been busy as well as lazy when I haven't been busy. But right now I'm waiting for my morning rice bowl to finish cooking so I can spare a few moments. Also, today is a national holiday, which means that stores are, or should be, closed and thus there isn't much to do.

Friday was my birthday, but I didn't really feel like going to the drinking party on the other side of town, at the Omiya-so dormitories. Instead, me and a few others stayed at my place, drinking and watching the extraordinarily funny Hard Gay, a japanese comedian and former wrestler. There was one moment when three people were gathered round the computer, desperately trying to find the final episode out of four parts.

The following evening found as at a different drinking party, at International house Tomoiki, where there was much socializing and intoxication with the JCLP students, tutors and other japanese students. Sadly enough, my love of beer temporarily abandoned me halfway through the event and we also had to leave early, since we needed to catch the last train from Kyoto station to Seta. But up to that point it was great, meeting people from different countries and discussing the deep mysteries in life, for example why certain people get violent when drinking strong liquor and similar subjects. On the way back I also finally bought an ICOCA card, which means I won't have to buy tickets every time I want to go somewhere by train or subway. Oh, and Zach spent most of his time on the train recording the sound of the doors closing and the automated voice saying "Next stop ". It kept him entertained which only goes to show that you can't trust americans.

On sunday I had planned to do nothing much, just relaxing and enjoying some peace and quiet. At ten past nine my friend David called me and needed some support at the local karaoke bar, since the rest of the JAS students had declined. Naturally, being the generally awesome individual that I am, I agreed and made my way to the bar. I wasn't really in the mood for singing with one friend and some other japanese people had never met before, but I figured I wouldn't have to stay that long. Once we got started, though, it was very enjoyable and what was supposed to be one hour became almost three. Needless to say, I was a god with the mic. The coming week will be filled with classes, going to those that sound interesting so that on tuesday we can register for the ones we want. Very different from the swedish system but a very good one for exchange students, I believe. Until next time, may your tap water stop tasting of chloride!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb