Day Ninety two: Additions to the family


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama
June 27th 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm currently sharing a small fold out lounge with a lovely german.

Her name is Kessy and you may remember her from previous adventures such as karaoke, the 6 floor sex shop and pachinko. Poor old Kess was done over by the language school closing early and needed accommodation for a week so she moved in last saturday and I have been exhausted ever since because with her, Sanae and myself in the one room it's like a never ending sleep-over and constant parade of funness. Happy Times.

I'm not sure if it's because of the expansion of mine and Sanaes small family at home or the fact that my afternoon class of 3 year olds leapt on me at one point in a massive sqiggling cuddling frenzy (I know it's unprofessional to even let that happen but they're so cute I let them attach themselves around my neck sometimes) or if it possibly had something to do with the game Satsuki and I play in the park on Fridays called "which baby at the park would you like to take home with you" but for the first time in my life I felt my biological clock tick over
Kessy in the supaKessy in the supaKessy in the supa

loving the miniature TV in the yoghurt refrigeration section
into some kind of maternal yearning. Not a woman to sit idley by and let her feelings get the best of her I walked Satsuki away from the school on our break and to a little shop in the corner where we both made purchases of little bundles of joy for us to care and look after at home.

And no, we didn't do that creepy thing women do by going to buy cats when they feel maternal and whatnot, we bought plants. Then we named them Shirao and Hannah (not very imaginative, Shirao is Japanese for white and Hanah is japanese for flower - not sure of the spelling though) then we walked our little bundles of joy back to school and afterwards walked them to the train station where we talked to our plants and provided them with love. I'm sure it looked as tragic and pathetic as it sounds.
Then brimming with joy I took Hannah home from the station and introduced her to "Aunty Kess" who glared at me and presented me with a present she'd bought earlier that day for Sanae and I for letting her stay at our house which was a small plant. Bless her, another addition to the family. Well, of course Sanae was overjoyed when she arrived home and found us all sitting around together watching CSI and together we named the new plant Blume (the german for flower) and settled back to enjoy some quality family time drinking wine and listening to country music.


Update as of July 2nd: I think Hannah is dying. If anyone can give me pointers on how to look after a plant it would be greatly appreciated. Too much water? Not enough water? I'm doing it all wrong! Maternal biological clock type feelings are quickly being sapped away by my inability to look after a simple plant.

Advertisement



7th July 2008

Ummmm...what are Hannah's symptons?
7th July 2008

well i think her symptoms are she`s just about dead from parental neglect.... oops

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb