Day Ninety: Blondes have more fun but Brunettes are socially acceptable


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama » Saitama
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The new meThe new meThe new me

I need a new lipstick and a nicer photo - but this one will do for now
You may remember I made a sudden life changing decision last Friday after being accosted on the train by a pervert out for a cheap thrill. Well, not one to sit quietly by, I strode into the hairdressers bright and early Saturday afternoon (Well, i had to sleep in) and demanded that Fuse (Sanaes wonderful hairdresser) turn me Japanese. He questioned my sincerity by coolly raising one eyebrow in the mirror (I just love hairdressers) and I rebutted his skeptical gaze with a look of my own.
"OK" he sighed "How dark do you want to go"
What the hell I thought. And then I said the words I always, always say to hairdressers and always, always regret.
"Oh, do whatever you like"
Why do I give these creative types full license to do whatever they wish with my hair? As the dye was painted on and I watched my hair change from a vivid bottle blonde to a dark shade of violet I repeated my mantra to myself "Brunettes can have fun too" and cursed the day that I ever dyed my hair to begin with. Then I cursed the day I decided to come to Japan and then I cursed the weird old man who entangled his fingers within my tresses. Then I sat in the chair and thought to myself Gentleman may prefer blondes but blondes do not necessarily prefer perverts. Then I giggled and decided to try and work that sentence into my blog somehow (haha! Done!)

Well, the result was darker than I could've imagined but so far being a brunette is working for me tirelessly. The yakitori vendor out the front of the supa decided to befriend me and offer me a free yakitori. The young japanese man in passing actually stopped to ask if i was OK or if I wanted help getting away from yakiktori man. The korean girl at dancing told me she liked my hair and then introduced me to the other gaijins at dancing (a Korean and a chinese girl) so I am now a part of the brunette international students group at dancing (until Natsu comes back from borneo and we become the brunette international students plus one token japanese girl who loves speaking english group at dancing), I was compared to Christina Ricci by a friend who clearly knows the right thing to say, Michhan my dance teacher spoke to me in japanese for the first time, my students were really well behaved and actually listened in my classes (I have a vague feeling they haven't recognised me yet) And men have even started staring at my chest the way their supposed to and not just gazing at my hair! Wow, I really have come a long way in such a short space of time.

Here's to brunettes having more fun than blondes!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb