Day 109: My (In)Action Plan for Summer


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama » Saitama
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sea Salt Ice CreamSea Salt Ice CreamSea Salt Ice Cream

See? I wasn't making it up!
As of today I have no more morning lessons! This is a little bit bad as it means I need to get more private students (or risk facing possible bankruptcy in September) but it is mostly good because it means that I don't have to go to work in the mornings!! Hurrah! So on the eve of my 6 week summer (morning) holiday
in Japan I have decided to go ahead and write myself a list, or a small guideline on how I will be spending my Summer abroad.

I will not under any circumstances leave the house in the middle of the day for tourism or sightseeing as I will quite possibly melt into a human puddle on the road.

I will instead stay at home and eat chocolate truffles, accented by a chilled glass of fruity white wine.

On the days that I do need to leave the house in the middle of the day to go to lessons I will not drink more than one glass of chilled fruity white wine, as being drunk at a kindergarten in the middle of summer with small children leaping off chairs and onto my back would not be a good idea. One glass however, may just loosen Sensei up that little bit to make the lesson extra fun for the little ones.

I will not sleep past 10 in the mornings, instead I will get up and do wonderful domestic things to make my dear roommate Sanae happy when she comes home from work.

If I do sleep past 10 in the mornings and don't do anything remotely domestic in the morning, instead of feeling bad for being lazy I will shake off my regrets and slowly go about my summer task list by having a chilled glass of fruity white wine.

On occasional mornings I will load up the basket on the bicycle with a swimming costume and towel and go to the local swimming pool.

When i go to the local swimming pool I will try not to mind when all the parents and children stop what they're doing and watch me walk into the pool area in my bikini as they did last Sunday when I ventured to the pool for the first time and nearly started a riot.
(Honestly, I try not to mind, but the last thing a self conscious young lady needs is a shocked silence at a swimming pool when she seen in a bikini)

I will experiment with Japanese Ice Cream - so far the most unusual ones I can tick off are sea salt, sakura and sesame. In the coolness of the evenings I will roam the streets of Tokyo finding more and more exotic flavours.

In August I will have a brief respite from my Summer InAction Plan and climb Mount Fuji with Yumiko.

Also, I will go to dancing four nights a week - Hip Hop Mondays and Wednesdays, Hip Hop Jazz on Tuesdays and Jazz on Thursdays effectively turning my working holiday in Japan into a prancing, dancing, bouncing holiday in Japan.

I will drink lots of water to compensate for the dehydration that will go along with the mountain climbing, dancing and the chilled fruity white wine mornings.

I will not forget to water the plants.


Advertisement



16th July 2008

my god i nearly pissed my pants at the swimming pool/bikini/staring in silence fiasco.... ha ha aaah it's so beautiful...hahaha
16th July 2008

I wish I was there to have a glass of chilled fruity white wine with you!! Miss you babe xx
16th July 2008

hahaha
No you don`t Kell! You wish you were here to have a glass of red wine or a bourbon with me!! x
16th July 2008

Beautiful?
hmmm. hopefully thats what they`re thinking when they see me in my swimmers!
26th July 2008

should send you pics of purple sweet potato and octopus flavoured ice creams i tried at namja town. gross!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb