Day 102: Alex Yamamoto?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama » Saitama
July 8th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I sniffed the air curiously and a wave of nostalgia swept over me. It was the smell of Alex, my big bolivian friend from Sydney, I looked around curiously and gasped in shock. My god, it actually was Alex!! What the hell was he doing in Japan! In Saitama! Without calling me! I shuffled my handbag to the other shoulder and prepared myself to lunge on him in a giant hug, when someone bumped him, apologised and Alex answered back in Japanese. Hmmmm... I thought to myself, I know Alex can't speak japanese..... I held onto the handrail and swung myself around to try and get a better glimpse of his face while running through a mental checklist.

- Business suit
- Intricately detailed facial hair art
- Frameless glasses
- Fancy phone/blackberry type thing
- Grunting type leave me alone noise when I bumped into his shoulder and disrupted his fancy phone fiddling
- Shaved head
- Dark mocha skin

It was all checking out, it was a 100% match.... and then I saw the eyes. Definately japanese eyes, and I knew without a doubt it couldn't be my big bolivian friend.
To be honest though, this kind of baffled me even more than the actual Alex being in Japan, I mean how can a japanese man be an exact replica of a giant latino man affectionately known in High school as Congo?
It's a little bit sad, I was hoping to leave Japan with at least some of my stereotypes intact but it seems that another one (that Japanese people are all tiny and I tower over them) has just gone out the window.

Advertisement



14th July 2008

Its not me!!!
Dearest Marsh San, What happened to the other picture you took of Alex Yamamoto? Right up there with the funniest things ive read this year hun... What where you up to in Saitama anyways? U still getting up to no good? love the blog... ill try and post a few things here and there to keep you entertained... ;) Hope to see you soon babe!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb