HERE!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
January 21st 2006
Published: January 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Den-Den TownDen-Den TownDen-Den Town

This was taken in the middle of the street... I guess like most pictures, it's more impressive in person.
Hello from Japan!!
Wow, so after a LONG airplane ride, I am here. So let's start with that plane ride. My flight was delayed 3 hours and for some lolo reason, the United Airlines people decided to keep us on board for the entire three hours! So essentially, my flight felt like it was 12 hours instead of the 9 we were in the air for.

So after the airport we (mom, Jason and I) went to catch a shuttle to our hotel, however, the shuttle doesn't stop at a lot of hotels and we just got dropped off in a general area. So of course, we ended up getting lost. Thank goodness for kind people! We were rescued by a cute, sweet, old Japanese business man who walked with us for nearly 15 minutes in the freezing cold to our hotel! He really was a life saver. I know FOR SURE we would have never found our hotel without his help. The Japanese maps are just a little hard to read... not just because they're in Japanese, but because there are so many streets!!! And yes, the weather is COLD! Kind of colder than Stockton, but you know what?
Toshiba!Toshiba!Toshiba!

That wasn't a Toshiba store, just an advertisement - though it's still one of my fav brands!
It's kind of crazy how meticulous the Japanese people dress. They're all so proper and fancied up - it's almost intimidating.

That was last night (Friday Japan time). Today, we woke up bright and early, went to the hotel restaurant to have breakfast. Talk about true Japanese breakfast with an International twist. There was the typical miso soup, rice, natto (some eat it with raw egg), ama ebi, ika, and more!! But there were also rolls, sausages, ham, bacon (looked a little like ham but fatty and cut in strips), boiled eggs, among other things. VERY interesting. After breakfast I took my FIRST subway ride and can I say wow? It's such an efficient way of traveling!

We went to den-den town - kind of the electronics area. TONS OF STORES!!! Mom and Jason picked up a cool top of the line, Nikon S3 (kind of like the Sony Cybershot) for about $150 under the US retail price. Made me want a new camera. We also walked through a marketplace and I had some awesome mochi... watched people purchase fresh fugu (puffer fish) that were wrapped in plastic but still gasping for air... it was little trippy. Oh, and the 7-11's here are cool... I've never seen so many Japanese products in a 7-11!

All in all I'm doing fine; I'm really enjoying myself here. It's a completely different experience and the people are so genuinely nice. I'm slowly getting used to the language... hopefully I pick up a lot while I'm here. I haven't taken many pictures yet, but I promise there will be lots more to come! Anyway, take care everyone... I'll write again once I get to campus (Tuesday - Japan time).

Oh, by the way, for everyone who's wondering about the time difference, Japan is 19 hours ahead of Hawaii or 5 hours ahead and one day back.

ie: Japan: 9:00pm 01/21
Hawaii: :2:00am 01/21

**sorry, i edited the times... i was a little tired when i was writing everything so there were some boo boos.


Advertisement



22nd January 2006

日本へようこそ!
おめでとう (omedetou)! You've finally made it! What lies ahead for you, Dawne, and me is a hard and frustrating journey but I hope that it is something that you will look back on in years to come and smile about. I know you're probably terrified like I am about the language barrier but remember Lexi, some of the best things in life are unspoken. In fact the better it is, the less words can describe it so just have a great time making friends and good memories ok? Make sure you keep in touch and Dawne and I will try to go see you some time so until then, 頑張てね (ganbate ne)!
22nd January 2006

*: ) ALOHA!!
Hi Lex! I would have loved to see your facial expressions as you walk through Japan's winding and seemingly endless line of streets and stream after stream of people. The sounds, the sights, the smell (food kiosks). I know you don't remember your first trip and I know you will never forget this one. I can only imagine your excitement and awe of this huge metropolis. Savor it! Soak it all in! Sample every Japanese delicacy, every nuance. I remember how frustrated I was when I went to Japan with your mom and aunties (Me, Cindy, Vera, and your mom). They did not want to try Japanese food while in Japan....Oh NOOOO, they wanted to go to McDonalds, Anna Millers, and Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC)! I remember that well! ("frustrated" is an understatement) Now that your mom has grown up (I think, hehehe) She will help you along - she will guide you well. The kids and I are enjoying your blog. Keep up the good work...and great pix btw! I wish there were more of them. Take good care of yourself. Give your mom and uncle hugs and kisses from me and the kids. J,M, and T.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb