Scuba Diving - Onna ToiletBowl


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
June 6th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Onna ToiletBowl



Josh, Edwin, and I headed out early this morning to get our dives in before the water got rough. We decided to go to Onna ToiletBowl since it's always a reliable site to see a variety of fish and aquatic wildlife.

While suiting up, Edwin realized that he forgot his dive boots back at the BOQ so he drove back to get them while Josh and I did a dive. When Edwin got back, Josh and I had just completed our dive. Edwin and I re-suited up for a second dive while Josh called it a day because he had cut his hands on the coral and his BCD was acting a little weird (deflating for no reason).

It seems as though this site just came alive this week. There were tons of fish swimming around and it seems as though there was a lot more sea anemone present than the last time I came here. On every single coral ridge there seemed to be a sea anemone with anemone fish swimming nearby which made for some nice pictures. No matter how often I see anemone fish, I never get tired of snapping pictures of them.

Towards the middle of my first dive we came across a turtle. Right before I saw it I was thinking to myself, "I wonder if I'll see a turtle out here today" and then BAM! There was a sea turtle hanging out on some coral just looking around. Josh swam up to take photos of it (and ended up chasing it around for a bit to get a video) while I just hung out to watch the whole situation play out. Josh was kicking pretty hard to keep up with the turtle while it just moved its fins (is that what they're called?) gracefully to stay just out of Josh's reach. haha. However says that turtles are slow is absolutely wrong. They can move reach quick in the water!

During my safety stop at 15 feet, I noticed 2 hermit crab like creatures nestled into some coral. The were curled up in their shells so I poked them with my finger. Once they thought it was safe to come out, there stuck their eyes out of their shells and I snapped some pictures. These two hermit crabs were no larger than my thumbnail so I
Hermit Crabs (?)Hermit Crabs (?)Hermit Crabs (?)

These were no bigger than my thumbnail
had to put my camera on macro to get the picture within focus.

To see more photos go here: http://picasaweb.google.com/kdupak/06June2008OnnaToiletBowl?feat=directlink

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb