Scuba Diving - Horseshoe Beach


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
November 8th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Horseshoe Beach



I got out to a new dive site this weekend and it was really great! Just south of Onna ToiletBowl there is another site called Horseshoe Beach. Our first dive here proved to be very entertaining as there were lots of fish, an yellowmargin moray eel, scorpionfish and shrimp. Getting out to where the coral dropped down took a bit of effort but once underwater it was easy to move around. Spotting the yellowmargin moray eel was by far the most exciting part of this dive. It had it's head sticking out only a few inches past the coral and it let me takes lots of photos. I thought my flash would annoy it, but it didn't seem to be bothered by it one bit.

The second dive was another first. I entered at Onna Toiletbowl and then drifted south until I was at Horseshoe Beach. On this dive I had to pass by a bunch of fisherman's lines, but I stayed well clear of them. I don't believe many people swim around here strictly because of the fishing lines so there was lots of wildlife activity. I saw a whitemouth eel, lots of anemonefish, and a triggerfish (first one I've seen on mainland Okinawa). I came out of this dive with about half a tank left of air, since it didn't take much effort on my part to move with the current. Definitely a dive I will do again as there were several large coral outcroppings a bit offshore that I want to check out. The whitemouth eel was very exciting to see. It was sticking about 1 foot from the coral. Unfortunately I was having problem trying to equalize the pressure in my ears so I wasn't able to swim down closer to it. The photos I took were about 20 feet away from it, yet they still turned out pretty good.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb