I Love Kyoto :)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
May 10th 2007
Published: May 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got lucky and had a three day weekend this past weekend 😊!!! Much better than the past three weeks where I have had only one day weekends because of shift swaps. I hemmed and hawed about whether or not to head out to Kyoto or to just relax around Shizuoka for a few days. Monday morning before I left for work I called up a hostel and asked if they had any room for the next day and they had did so that was that.

I took the local train from Shizuoka to Kyoto because I am cheap and didn't want to spend 9000 yen to ride the Shinkansen. I left at about 8:30 in the morning and got to Kyoto at around 2:30. The train ride was really nice, of course I am crazy and love long train rides. I looked up the express route before I left so that I could at least catch trains that didn't stop at every station along the way to expedite the trip a bit and I got a few solid hours of final Kyoto researching in so I would be ready to make the most of my time in Kyoto 😊.
The friendly hostel I stayed at :)The friendly hostel I stayed at :)The friendly hostel I stayed at :)

Brought back so many memories of backpacking last year. Met lots of interesting travellers and a couple of Nova teachers from Tokyo.
We also passed through some really beautiful areas of Japan, a part of the trip is through a foresty area and if you look to either side there are tons of what I think were rice paddies.

I could write for ages about my trip to Kyoto. Bottom line is I LOVE THE CITY. Its exactly what you think about when you picture old Japan. Lots of temples and shrines and pagodas, lots of buddhist and hindu influence. In my couple of days in Kyoto I only just scratched the surface of all there is to see, this is definitely a city I hope to return to while I am here.

To save you from absolute boredom, I will just give you a quick play by play and my personal highlights....

Day 1:

*Arrived at about 2:30, found my hostel (10 minute walk from the station).
*Walked 15 minutes to SANJUSENGEN DO -- The shrine of 1001 Buddhas.
*Took the bus to KIYOMIZU DERA -- A UNESCO World Heritage Site. I could have spent an entire day at this place. A beautiful temple in the middle of a forest of lush green trees (especially green right now as it is spring time).
*My timing for seeing this place could not have been more perfect. It was during sunset....definitely going in my book of best places in the world to see the sunset one day 😊.
******Walked from Kiyomizu dera to MARAYUMA Park (famous for a big weeping cherry tree). Incredible walk along small old Japanese streets next to a Pagoda at sunset.
*Walked through the old Japanese streets of Gion and kept my eyes peeled for Geisha, but unfortunately did not spot any.
*Had dinner at a nice restauarant along an old Japanese Street called Pontocho---Steamed trout and special Kyoto vegetables...delicious but not really that special but for 900 yen, not a bad deal.


Day 2:

*Got the day off to a rocky start...bought a 500 yen bus pass which allowed me to ride the bus unlimited times during the day, but took the wrong bus, missed the buss, left my pass on the ground in a hurry and had to rush off the bus to go back and grab it. Despite the initial grief, definitely worth the 500 yen in the end!!!!! Great deal, definitely got my money's worth.
*******First stop of the day was RYOAN JI. Maybe my favorite site in Kyoto. A famous Zen rock garden. Nearby is a small fountain with the quote, "I learn only to be contented" inscribed on it. I spent about 45 minutes just sitting in the garden and sketching. Very peaceful and very unique site.
*Walked to KINKAKU JI -- The Golden Pavillion. Had my picture taken in front 😊.
*Took the bus to the other side of the city to see GINGAKU JI - The Silver Pavillion.
*******Ate a delicious lunch at a restaurant called OMEN. Kyoto Vegetables, Udon noodles, sesame seeds and soup.
*******Walked along "The Path of Philosophy" from Gingaku Ji to Eikan Ji.
*Sat in Marayuma Park in front of the weeping cherry tree and journaled.
*Walked back to the Kyoto station and took the escalator to the 12th floor observatory deck for a night time view of Kyoto.



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Sanjusengen doSanjusengen do
Sanjusengen do

You aren't allowed to take pictures inside, but I managed to get this picture. If you look closely you can see a few of the Buddha statues through the open door. There are really 1001 statues, its quite impressive. And each one has a different face. You are supposed to be able to find a buddha that looks like you, your friends and family.
Sanjusengen doSanjusengen do
Sanjusengen do

This is the Buddha I found that looks like me :)
Sanjusengen doSanjusengen do
Sanjusengen do

Special architecture to earthquake proof the building. It is built upon alternating layers of sand and clay.
Sanjusengen doSanjusengen do
Sanjusengen do

Famous hallway where they used to have archery contests.
Teapot LaneTeapot Lane
Teapot Lane

A narrow street full of Japanese shops on the way to Kiyomizu dera.
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

Me at Kiyomizu Dera
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

The view part 2. Kyoto tower in the distance.
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

The view part 3
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

A young woman dressed in a kimono drinking the water at the temple which is known to bring good luck in love.
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

Brilliant! I would have drank some of the water no matter what since it is supposed to bring good luck in love, but it was nice that the cups were UV sanitized!
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

The greenery is amazing!!
Kiyomizu deraKiyomizu dera
Kiyomizu dera

I LOVE THIS PICTURE! Kiyomizu Pagoda at sunset.
 Marayuma Park Marayuma Park
Marayuma Park

The weeping cherry tree at sunset.


11th May 2007

Hermana
great pics sister! love you!
28th May 2007

amazing!
Oh man, this looks beautiful! I DEFINITELY want to do the same thing as you now

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb