Day 06: Off to Yashima, Shikoku (Jun 2019)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Yashima Island
June 28th 2019
Published: April 24th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 28th June 2019

I headed to the city of Takamatsu on the eastern end of Shikoku island this morning. This is as far as my railway pass could take me given that I had only purchased the limited Sanyo-San'in Area Pass rather than the all Japan Rail Pass. Along the way, I was treated to a memorable train ride onboard the Marine Liner as it travelled on the Iwakurojima Bridge across the Seto Inland Sea which is dotted by beautiful islands.

Takamatsu Train Station that greeted me was relatively crowd-free as I continued my journey to Yashima, the city's "rooftop" overlooking the Seto Inland Sea. Getting to Yashima is via the cutesy Sanjo Shuttle Bus that makes an hourly run to the summit. The bus dropped me at a huge carpark area next to a rest station and souvenir stores. Also within walking distance is the Yashima Temple which is the 84th of the 88th temples on the Shikoku Pilgrimage. The highlight of my visit is undoubtedly the breathtaking views of the outdoor gallery overlooking the city and beyond.

It helped that the thin crowds this morning made the whole visit a pleasant one to remember.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.759s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 88; dbt: 0.6488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb