Day 06: Off to Takamatsu, Shikoku (Jun 2019)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Takamatsu
June 28th 2019
Published: April 24th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 28th June 2019

From Yashima, I made a trip back to the city centre where the Takamatsu Symbol Tower is located. Towering 30th stories above ground level, there is a public observatory where free views of the city could be had. Following which, I took a relatively late lunch at one of the restaurants located at the station arcade which served the famed Sanuki Udon. It was a lovely meal indeed. After lunch, I took a walk around the waterfront which formed part of the "Support Takamatsu District". Also located within close proximity are the castle grounds as well as a unique artwork known as the Liminal Air Core next to the port district.

On my way back to Honshu island, I decided to make a stopover at Utazu since this is the only other place in Shikoku that is covered by my railway pass. From the railway station, I took a 20-minute walk towards the coastal direction where the iconic Playpark Gold Tower is located. Next to the Tower is the Utazurinkai Park overlooking the beautiful islands which dotted the Honshu landscape.

Overall, this is a lovely excursion to the less crowded Shikoku neighbour where I was rewarded with fine views throughout the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb