Daily Life


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
September 6th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not much has happened lately. For the most part, I've just been really, REALLY tired. However, I do find it kind of odd how everyone is asking if I've adjusted to daily Japanese life. It's been little more than a month, and I've been going to school for three weeks, so yes I have adjusted. It doesn't take that long really, especially when you consider the differences between daily life in two industrialized countries, or lack thereof in this case. To be perfectly honest, on school days I get up, eat, get ready for school, go to school, come home, eat and go to bed. Sound similar anyone? I've definately noticed that everyone here seems to have a misconception that the Japanese people and their culture are very different from the rest of the world. For example I'm always asked if I can eat Japanese food, and I don't mean the unheard of stuff. Most people are merely pondering if I can eat rice, soy sauce and other staple foods. Then they exclaim "sugoi" and tell me that theythought that coming from North America I'm very different because everyone there only eats meat and potatoes. It makes me wonder if the Japanese even know the extent of globalization and effects it has. Canada is multicultural and thusly has a resteraunt for just about every food imaginable. Mioka also asked me what kind of shoes she should wear in my house. "None," I replied. She was surprised as everyone in Japan believes that they are the only country where you take your shoes off in your home. >_>
So, to be absolutely, brutally honest, on a most basic level, there just isn't a ton of differences between Canadian and Japanese culture (I'm excluding language, food and geography of course and focusing on how the two carry out daily life). I think that the rise in gloalization is a partly responsible for this. That and the fact that we're all human and thusly all have the same basic needs. I will agree however that traditional culture is very different, that and the food. But when considering culture in day to day life, I may as well be back home (not that I'm saying this isn't a great experience as it is and I hope I'm learning a lot).

I also have a feeling that Mioka is expecting a similar welcome at Carroll as the one I recieved here. With the self introduction in front of the entire school, homeroom, all the staff etc. Not to mention that the majority of students say hello to me everday and remark that I'm cute. I'm so sorry to burst your bubble Mioka, but I don't think anyone will notice another student in the school. >_< Not that we Carrollers are unfriendly or anything, but an exchange student isn't exactly headline news. >_< Gomen ne!!!!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb