Japanese animals


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

JellyfishJellyfishJellyfish

What a cool tank! Never saw that in a zoo...
Our fun-filled adventure for today was a trip to the zoo. The adventure part included renting a car to get there -- Megumi's car is in the shop. It was a pretty nice honda rental though, and allowed us to fit more people (Matt and Yo-ichi came too). Nick and Megumi had donuts for breakfast (I snagged one) which were way better than donuts in the states. Very fresh and a little crunchy. It was like the best donut you've ever had (hot Krispy Kreme excluded). Nick's looked like a plain ring with chocolate frosting, but inside was chocolate (not cream, just chocolate). How interesting.... It'll be my next donut. The zoo was a good 3hour drive, but we stopped at a little shop on the way. About 5minutes after getting into the car, we were assaulted with this horrific odor of rotten fish. We looked around and Yo-ichi had bought something like squid jerkey. OMG did it smell!!! He and Megumi were just chowin down -- made it actually look appetizing if it weren't for the gut-wrenching smell. We rode with the windows wide open for a while after that to clear the smell. I can't believe anyone can eat
The emperorThe emperorThe emperor

Really cool penguins -- they're huge!
something that smells like that!
We made it to the zoo around noon. Rumored to be the best in the "happy world" (which apparently includes Japan) it was a decent zoo. Lots and lots of monkeys. 😊 Good times. A pretty regular zoo though overall. I especially liked the exhibit with the squirrels and the raccoon. haha A decent penguin exhibit too. I had yummy udon noodles for lunch in the zoo (which I found out are basically just flour and water -- even spaghetti has more nutritional value).
We started heading back around 5 and stopped at 2 more convenience stores on the way (bringing my total convenience store shopping up to 4 for the day at that point -- we'd hit 5 before we were done). I have this obsession with foreign candy for some reason. I love going in and getting random little treats (one of which was AWEFUL and I had to spit it out -- a really salty/sour dried plum-like thing. ewwww). We made it back at 7:45, just under the wire (had to return by 8 or else pay more). I finished my book in the car, now need to find other sources of
kittehskittehskittehs

I don't think the girl liked the boy very much...
amusement... When we got back, Nick made Mike and I dinner. Who knew Nick can cook? It was GREAT! Yaki soba is a lot like lo mein (less greasy though). It's sauteed veggies (he used carrot and cabbage) and meat, ramen noodles (similar but not exact), and some special packet of sauce that not even Megumi knows what the ingredients are. Tastes like a sweet curry kind of. Really freakin good though! Add the chopsticks and it felt like an authentic Japanese meal. Good job Nick! And that was pretty much the night. Mike and I just passed out after that. I still don't think my body has any idea what's going on -- I don't know when I'm supposed to be tired! One day I was up at 1am, the next day we went to bed at 6am, the next day we went to bed at 9pm. dang... It just makes me tired all the time. It's like that experiment when you put people in the bubble without any external cues of time, they naturally like a 25hr day. I think I naturally like a 30 hour day. You don't realize how much you depend on external cues (like
Cat pissCat pissCat piss

That sign actually says something about watching out for the cats to back up to the fence and pee on everyone. We actually watched him doing it to a tree -- impressive! Quite a forceful stream... haha
what time it is, sunlight, and meal times) to tell you when you're supposed to feel tired and go to sleep until your body is in such havoc that you have no clue what you're supposed to be feeling.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

crittercritter
critter

It was sitting there sticking its tongue out for a while...
PorcupinePorcupine
Porcupine

I've never actually seen one... They do look sharp
Squirrels!Squirrels!
Squirrels!

Yes, they had squirrels in the Japanese zoo...
sunbathsunbath
sunbath

Ring-tailed lemur having enjoying the weather
CapiberraCapiberra
Capiberra

Like a giant guinea pig! My favorite was when the spider monkey sat on the capiberra
Spider monkeysSpider monkeys
Spider monkeys

Love those things! And they were obsessed with that door for some reason
Japanese monkeysJapanese monkeys
Japanese monkeys

Apparently they put their food (seeds) mixed in with the dirt, so they spend all their time digging through the dirt for food.
penguin tubepenguin tube
penguin tube

This was cool! You walk through the penguin exhibit and they swim all around you. I want one in my house...


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb