Freddy Mercury


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning, Mike surprised us with his new look. Nick's first comment of the day (at noon -- yes that was his first comment of the day) was that he looks like the Village People. Commence the gay jokes. Even Megumi said he looked gay. haha He became Freddy Mercury for the day. Our day began with one of the only few movies/tv in English in Nick's apt -- Tomb Raider 2 (it's a box set, so we still have entertainment for tomorrow). We actually intended to go to the beer garden (Sapporo factory) but got waylaid on the way. First was lunch at Mos Burger, something like McDonalds. A tasty burger and a souvenir glass (ok, so they weren't giving away the glasses, but they're cool! We noticed the security cameras on the way out... made for a nervous exit haha). Then we passed a Starbucks, so had to stop for some crack (of course). Our last stop before the beer garden was the bookstore -- Mike needed a book. 4 hours later, it was dark out and the beer garden was probably closed. So we basically spent the majority of our day at a Japanese Barnes and Noble. Nick
Freddy MercuryFreddy MercuryFreddy Mercury

See the resemblence? haha
read an entire physics book, and Mike and I bought a couple of books. It was kind of relaxing. I go into bookstores a lot, just to browse, and just being there makes me want to just sit and read for a while, but there is always something more pressing to do. This time I had no excuse and got to just enjoy reading for fun. It was nice! By the time we were done, it was almost dinner time. We met up with Megumi and walked to some yaki tori (literally "cooked bird" but just means chicken). Pretty tasty -- like chicken skewers. Nothing too super impressive. I had ginko nuts though and they were dang tasty! The dessert there was freakin awesome -- little frozen cream puffs on a pocky stick (my favorite Japanese candy -- look for it at the grocery store). I discoverd a new Japanese beer, in addition to the classic Sapporo beer, called Yebisu -- like a Guinness but not as bitter. From there, we walked headed home. Another quiet night, though we did contemplate going to a gay bar since we now had Freddy Mercury on our side. Instead, we decided to do
It's Pole Town!It's Pole Town!It's Pole Town!

It's the big underground city -- what a great idea!! You can walk from one town to another, underground.
laundry, which requires a car to get to. We dropped it off and went to kill some time. I finally got my shrimp burger at McDonalds (we actually didn't eat much at the yaki tori place, and the shrimp burger wasn't too bad). I also got to wander around the Japanese grocery store. (ok, so my obsession with foreign food is a little weird...) I came back with water (what I actually needed), some breakfast items (also on my list), and a whole bag of Japanese sweets. heh heh Not so bad, since I'll probably eat like one piece from each. Also not so bad since we've been having like 2 meals a day otherwise. It's funny that no matter how much crappy food there is around (and yes, they do eat it), it's still rare to see a fat Japanese person. My guess was that it's because of all the walking. Similar to NYC -- you don't see as many fat people there either. In any case, I will thoroughly enjoy my red bean paste and mochi sweets -- then work my butt of in jiu jitsu when I come home. And that was pretty much it for the
Pole TownPole TownPole Town

Seriously, a great idea
night. Oh yeah, and all of our laundry is stuck at the laundromat because they really aren't a 24/7 place, but closed at 11. Oops. I hope it's still there in the morning... Cross your fingers since that's a thrid of my wardrobe! (and half of Nick's, apparently).

Advertisement



15th October 2008

Freddy Mercury
It's as much the rage here as it is at home -- which is to say...not. haha It's kinda growing on me though! Too funny. Glad I could help out with the pocky sticks idea. So yummy!
16th October 2008

MESSAGE TO MIKEY
PLEASE LOOSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEE THE STASH. LOL

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb