Day 12 - Hakodate to Otaru via Sapporo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Otaru
December 27th 2013
Published: December 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm finally at the last few days of my trip.

Otaru is the last town I am stopping at.



I took an early train (0830) from Hakodate back to Sapporo because there are only a few shuttle bus from Otaruchikko station to the hotel I am staying.



I guess I should correct myself - I didn't stay at hotels whilst I was in Sounkyo and Abashiri, they are more like resorts. You can actually stay in the hotel and not go anywhere.

And it'd be the same in Otaru.



I have been to this resort in Otaru.

Seven years ago.

Just like I have stayed at the hotel in Sapporo before.

I am staying for two nights in Otaru. I am debating if I want to head down to the whiskey making town close by tomorrow because my reliable sources told me Otaru is now full of mainland Chinese people and really, I have tried everything to avoid them so why stop now?

I am going to Otaru mainly for the onsen.



I got to Otaruchikko really early, just to be on the safe side but I ended up waiting for over an hour for the bloody shuttle bus that never turned up. I saw 2 resort shuttle bus but neither of them was for the one that I am going to.

Which is really annoying because I was standing in the cold for a while.

So I ended up taking the bus instead, and even that was delayed.

Not by much - just 5 minutes.

But my soggy toes didn't like that.

It's soggy because I have very sweaty toes.

It's not pretty.

My socks in snow boots and ski boots are usually completely soaked after a long day.

The shuttle bus was in front of us when we were on the bus.

It was just massively late and it overtook us on the way.

Bastards.



Nonetheless we got there eventually, but it's so much busier than it used to be.

And nothing like what it was.

It's not as serene as seven years ago.

So this will be the last time I'm here.

This used to be so amazing and I used to love this place.

Now it's just another resort, nothing special about it anymore.

The onsen is still quite good, nothing has change much there.

And thank goodness the food is still as good as it was.

I was so full afterwards.



I still don't think I'll come back though.

Done it enough time already.



Think I'll try something else next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb