Day 13 - morning in Yoichi and afternoon in Otaru


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Otaru
December 28th 2013
Published: December 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yoichi is a town that makes famous whiskey.

And since Otaru is now full of mainland Chinese people, I thought I might as well make a trip over to Yoichi.



I got to Otaru station at 1010. I then made my reservation to the airport tomorrow (staying overnight there because of early flight on Monday). The problem is there's not that many train to Yoichi from Otaru so I ended up spending about an hour wandering round the local mall which funny enough has a massive beauty section.



I managed to get to Yoichi just before noon - unfortunately the brewery itself isn't open after Christmas so I only wandered round the building and took some photos.



The snow was really heavy though - at one point my hair and eyebrows were covered.



Then I took the 1307 train back to Otaru.

And headed to Sushizanmai for lunch.

Like seven years ago.

Lots and lots of sushi.

The decor has changed and it looks nicer.

But it also do a lot more than just sushi and sashimi.

There's even hot food now.

But the sushi is still as great as ever.

Met some really nice people in the shop too.

One of the girls like Yamapi and her surname is Yamada.



The snow was even heavier in Otaru. It hurt when it was blowing in your face.



I was gonna go back to the resort but then I thought I might as well make the most of it so I went to the music box museum and the glass shops.

I spent a whole afternoon there.

I got a music box for my music teacher that plays Chopin Impromptu-Fantasie.



The shuttlebus from the hotel is at 1720. I didn't think I can wandered until that late.

I did.



I still wasn't too sure where to get on and off the bus, so I went back and forth trying to find where the stop is.

Because I don't remember where it was from 7 years ago.

But thank god it was the right place.



I got back to the resort at good time, and because dinner was not until 1900, I went out to the onsen.



And oh my god my dinner was massive and I was stuffed to the brim.

Whoever said Japanese food is light is a freaking liar because it was not light.

Today was like Toro and Maguro day (both Toro and Maguro are parts of tuna).

I even ate blue fin tuna.

It was really really nice.



So stuffed though.

Really don't want this trip to end.

Last night tomorrow night.

Then back to boring England.



Boo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb