More and more culture!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Ichikawa
September 19th 2010
Published: September 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

smoking signssmoking signssmoking signs

read them. they are hilarious.
So, It has been awhile since i have written, my apologies. I unfortunately was having some computer issues and had to reformat my hard drive... =/ anyway...

I started my first full week of classes last week! I am really enjoying the Japanese classroom, even more so than the American alternative. The pace is fast but not too fast that anybody gets left behind. I feel like it's just the right level of comfort that I need. Also, the senseis that I have are very friendly and helpful.

So I went to a few different places over the last couple of days. I went back to Harajuku (of course), Asakusa, and Tokyo just recently.

Harajuku: It was fashion night in Harajuku and I had a blast! I went with some friends of mine, and we shopped a bit and saw some interesting exhibits put on the street. The people were zipping around the streets all night trying to get the latest fashions at a decent price. Of course, again, something that you would expect in Harajuku.

Asakusa: I went with the IES group on a tour of Asakusa. There were so many things to see there! I bought a fan because the heat was crazy that day, so now I have an authentic Japanese fan! hehehe. There were loads of temples in the area to visit, and I went to my first zen garden. So cool by the way. I saw the new version of the Tokyo tower being built, and it looks like its almost finished! I'm sure the end result is going to be fantastic. At the end of the tour, I went to a sumo match! It's very suprising to me to see how much of the old culture is still thriving in the modern cities of Japan. I actually had to ask someone because I didn't know what the "white rice" was that they were throwing into the ring before the match. Later.. I found out that it was salt, and the sumo wrestlers believe in purifying the ring every time that you enter as to not bring negative energy into the arena. The belief of a pure ring stems from shintoism and the purification rituals performed before intense meditations. Totally cool to see for my very first trip to Asakusa.

Tokyo: I actually didnt go into the heart of the city. I was off in the suburbs and went to a night club with a few of my friends. Again, I was totally suprised by the bartenders. Every time that someone orders a drink, as they are making it, they put on a show with fantastic bottle throwing skills. The end result is an excellent cocktail. The music was amazing as usual, and all of the people were very open and friendly. The atmosphere was actually quite different than an american club, the people were more interested in talking to you and getting to know you. The venue was HUGE. Ageha included 4 dance floors and an outside bar and dance floor with a pool right in the center. I was amazed to find such a nice club in the suburbs of Shinkiba.

I just got back from lunch with a friend in baraki nakayama where I am staying, and the curry was SUPER spicy and I only ordered a level 3 out of 10. I couldn't even finish it...maybe im a wuss when it comes to spices...hehehe. I have Japanese class tomorrow at 9AM so I'm actually going to study now, but I finally have my PC back, so I will update more often. Now..lets see if i can upload some of these photos...hahaha



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

night skynight sky
night sky

kaihinmakuhari
night sky2night sky2
night sky2

kaihinmakuhari
night sky 3night sky 3
night sky 3

kaihinmakuhari
HarajukuHarajuku
Harajuku

crazy fashions
HarajukuHarajuku
Harajuku

Heres some street fashion
HarajukuHarajuku
Harajuku

Shops with crazyy outfits
HarajukuHarajuku
Harajuku

More shopss
CartCart
Cart

These were the luggage carts we had to use to come into the airportt


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb