Day 01: Nagoya One Day Pass (Sep 2017)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nagoya » Sakae
September 16th 2017
Published: October 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 16th September 2017

Chubu Airport >> Nagoya (44.5km, 53 mins, 870 Yen)

The sky was drizzling away when my flight landed at Chubu International Airport. The rainy weather would continue throughout the day as Typhoon Talim was expected to make heavy landfalls in Japan that same evening.

From the airport, I took the Meitetsu Train (870 Yen, JR Pass not eligible) to Nagoya Station. I then transfered to the subway to Sakae district for my final destination where my hotel, Meitetsu Inn Nishiki was located. After leaving my luggage at the reception, I headed for lunch at the nearby underground mall before starting my subway DIY tour. The weekend pass cost an amazing value-for- money 600 Yen which provided unlimited rides on the city's subway lines. I had allocated 2 nights in Nagoya even though for the most part of the following day, I would be venturing out of the city to as far as the Shinkansen could possibly bring me.

I started my sight seeing plans in front of the Nagoya TV Tower before continuing my plans to the Nagoya Port (Nagoyako Station) where the Port Tower and the Antarctic Museum were located. It was a big challenge to take pictures because of the rain. Next, I headed to the Osu Shopping District where the Giant maneki-neko (beckoning cat) greeted me as I approached the shopping avenue. This is a sprawling working class district with plenty of shopping and eateries within walking distance from the Kamimaezu Station.

In the evening, well-rested from my short nap, I headed to the Nagoya Dome Station where I had my dinner and shopping at the huge Aeon Mall nearby. My plan for this trip was to make Nagoya as a jumping point even though shortly after booking my air tickets, I noticed that Osaka was in a better position as I could purchase the Hokuriku 7 Day Pass @ 25,000 Yen rather than the 7 Day Japan Pass @ 29,110 Yen. Anyway, a minor savings of 4,000 yen did not make a huge difference as I went on to visit Himeji and Sendai which were not covered under the Hokuriku Pass.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



19th July 2018

Thanks for the great post!
Love the photos and thanks for the informative post! Check out our 12 days Japan Travels as well! Happy Travels Everyone! Tom & Kate, 2bearbear.com
20th July 2018

Re:
Hi Tom, thanks for your great comments :) I shall check out your blog as well during the weekend. Thanks for sharing. Budokan :)

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb