Paradise Found


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
November 24th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

passing the timepassing the timepassing the time

posing....waiting for the ferry
This has to be one of the best destinations in Indonesia. Gili T as it is otherwise known is fondly referred to as the party island. But unlike Kuta, which can be ad nauseum, Gili T is a beatifully reflective place. It is one of three islands off the island of Lombok, the other two are Gili Air and Gili Memo which in comparison are not as developed in respect of tourism. And while that word is likely to elicit groans and moans it shouldn't in this case prevent you from visiting. The island has to be seen to be believed.

There is nothing particularly overwhelming here in respect of infrastructure and crowds. Instead, it successfully provides its own blend of hedonism in the same square mile as you'll find refined restaurants and quiet beaches. To borrow the often used cliche: there is something to do for everyone without either preference imposing upon the other.

The day I arrived was long overdue having missed the boat from Lombok as I was delayed over 3 hours in Lombok harbour where our ferry sat waiting to dock. But there was beer and there was sunshine and while others moaned I looked at what was around me and took pleasure in the fact that I was not at least in England working a job, which not to put to fine a point on it, would otherwise have been killing me slowly.

So that first night I stayed in Sengiggi and the following morning was driven to Bhansal from where I took a long-tail boat over to Gili T with my friends, Jack and Daniel from Holland who I met on the minibus from Kuta.

From Bhansal you can see all 3 islands which look deceptively close but with strong currents and sweeping waves that toss and turn the boat it is completely unacceptable to even attempt swimming between the islands. In fact it is not only discouraged, it is considered suicidal to even attempt it however strong a swimmer you are.

As soon as I arrived the first sights to greet me were beautiful happy people milling around looking beautiful. It was a world away from Kuta where the noise and madness is so enveloping it became madness in my head making me feel trapped and unhappy. The moment I checked into my bungalow the first thing I did was get a cold beer, plug my i-pod into my speaker, pull out my diary and settle down on my patio where I reflected on my experiences to date and thought about the time I have left. Feeling truly blessed that I was able to spend it in such a place. There are no motorised vehicles on the island, only pony traps and bicycles. There was only a slight breeze in the air and a warm sun filtering through the trees with the noise of a cat meeowing somewhere near me and the voices of people laughing and chattering. All I felt at that moment was the peace I had desperately been seeking since leaving Ton Sai.

So, what happened to me on Gili T? You wouldn't believe me if I told you but I am unable to contain the excitement. To tell it properly I need to start at the beginning.

The day I arrived I was buying new slippers when I was approached by a man who took my breath away. Yaari Rama is his name. He was electric. That night I saw him again. He invited my onto his friend's boat. O.K, firstly, that never
Danny and JackDanny and JackDanny and Jack

..on the ferry
happens to me! He assured me that the offer was genuine and invited me to meet him at Horizon Bar at 1 the following day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

On the roadOn the road
On the road

...with all my wordly possessions


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb