Jakarta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Indonesian capital of Jakarta on the 9th July from KL, having said my goodbyes to Amir who was flying back to Bangkok later that day (prior to returning to Burma).


Carried a ltr of Gin (to drink with my Breakfast!) in my hand luggage which was confiscated from me as no fluids are allowed in hand luggage, doh!


Anyway, what can I say about Jakarta, with a population of 8.5 million people you'd expect the city to be full of site to go and visit, unfortunately you'd be wrong!! When I arrived, I asked a few people what were the main things to see, after a considerable pause the list was always very short!

Guess the Main site was the National monument that was in the centre (if there is a centre to Jalarta), and went to visit this and the Welcome monument. I'm sure there were some other sites to see, but with such heavy traffic and pollution, I didn't fancy travelling around the city.

Well the traffic problems and the polution just added to the cities charm, and after just two nights I was off to the bus station to get a bus to Pangandaran (on the west coast of Java). Since, alot of the travellers I have met spent about the same amount of time!

Next Surfing in Pangandaran...............


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th August 2007

Arrived in Indonesian capital of Jakarta on the 9th July from KL, having said my goodbyes to Amir who was flying back to Bangkok later that day (prior to returning to Burma). Carried a ltr of Gin (to drink with my Breakfast!) in my hand luggage which was confiscated from me as no fluids are allowed in hand luggage, doh! Anyway, what can I say about Jakarta, with a population of 8.5 million people you'd expect the city to be full of site to go and visit, unfortunately you'd be wrong!! When I arrived, I asked a few people what were the main things to see, after a considerable pause the list was always very short! Guess the Main site was the National monument that was in the centre (if there is a centre to Jalarta), and went to visit this and the Welcome monument. I'm sure there were some other sites to see, but with such heavy traffic and pollution, I didn't fancy travelling around the city. Well the traffic problems and the polution just added to the cities charm, and after just two nights I was off to the bus station to get Welcome Monument - Jakarta a bus to Pangandaran (on the west coast of Java). Since, alot of the travellers I have met spent about the same amount of time! Next Surfing in Pangandaran...............

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb