JAKARTA!!!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

40 hours on a bus from Bukittinggi to the Capital of Indoinesia doesn't sound very appealing, especially when the sides of the bus are made of cardboard and attached with selotape and the windows are rattling and about to fall out. It must have been exactly what had happened to the front of the bus on the right side where there wasn't a window, just a criss cross of thin stripes of wood tied together with string and a sheet of heavy duty plastic over the top in place of the window that must have fallen out on a previous trip.

But it was in fact the most comfortable bus I have taken so far on my little adventure because I was able to get a least 5 hours sleep each of the two nights I spent on it as opposed to my usual 0. Plus it was better than the previous 12 hour night bus I got from Lake Toba to Bukittinggi that was infested with about 30 cockroaches, only little ones I saw but the big mommas must have been lurking somewhere in the dark.

Even though I conducted my experient to see if the water does swirl in the opposite direction when drained on the other side of the equator I still haven't come to any conclusion because I can't remember whether it goes anti-clockwise or clockwise north of the equator. Anyway I'm sure no one really cares and I'm a very tired boy who needs some sleep so I'll have to go.

See ya.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Dieng PlateauDieng Plateau
Dieng Plateau

Smoking Crator
Borobodur TempleBorobodur Temple
Borobodur Temple

Borobodur temple, ranking with Ankor Wat in Cambodia and Bagan in Burma as South East Asia's most awesome structures.


Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb