MOUNT BROMO!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Bromo Tengger Semeru
December 3rd 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at my destination in Bromo by mini van 10 hours from Yogyakarta and nearly got my foot run over when I got out because the driver didn't put the handbrake on, but the live band's Bob Marley remix 'I shot the tourist, but I did not shot their travellers cheques' made the night.

I was going to walk the 6 hour route that took in all of the volcanoes in the area starting at 3 in the morning. Good job I took a jeep instead cause I was out of breath in the 30 minutes it took up the steps to the first volcano.

The views were amazing. The landscape looks like your on the moon, hopefully someday in the not so distant future my travels will take me there.

Now I'm in Bali, and the first day I arrived I did absolutely nothing. I based myself in the capital and the second day I embarked on a mission to explore. I was going to rent a motorbike but I thought there are many roads and my sense of direction was useless so I was bound to get lost and opted for the next best thing, public transport. I bought a Indonesian phrasebook to help me on my journey through Indonesia in Yogyakarta, but I'm still pretty useless. At one point I got the driver to drop me off at a Hindu temple I wanted to see, well, it looked like a Hindu temple, in fact it was the grounds of someone's house and I got chased out by a dog. The owner of the house came out and invited me in, introduced me to his wife and brother and then his son and his son's wife and their children, one a seven year old boy who I gave my address to and he said he will send me a letter. They gave me all I could eat for lunch and a lift to the next town so I could get a bus to my next destination, which was very nice. Well I off to Lombok soon an island nearby, then on to Komodo to see the Komodo dragons, then its over to Flores and up to South Sulawesi and over to Kalimantan by boat, which will be pretty interested, 30 hours at sea.

Hope your all well

Bye


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

BromoBromo
Bromo

My Jeep
BromoBromo
Bromo

Its a long way down on my circuit round the crator rim
BromoBromo
Bromo

Me again
BromoBromo
Bromo

The crator I walked around
BaliBali
Bali

My Balinese family


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb