Day 7 Jimburan Bay


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
October 9th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In Jimbaran BayIn Jimbaran BayIn Jimbaran Bay

Guys bringing in the booty!
Day 7
Scooter estimate and Jimbaran Bay
Peter and I got an estimate to have the scooter fixed today. We took off early from the
hotel, so we could make the most of the day. The front desk gave use the name and directions to an authorized Honda repair shop. Understanding the directions and trying to find the place was an adventure all in it self. We drove a lot further than the directions said but we found the repair place. It was a busy little shop, but one of the guys came out right away and took a look at the bike. In just a few minutes Peter came over with an estimate in his hands. $32 USD! I asked Peter if I was hearing him right. We couldn’t believe it. “They will replace the rearview mirror, the left turn lamp and the front bumper all for $32?” I’m in shock. “That includes labor?” Still in disbelief I had to look at the estimate. Peter and I were expecting $200- $300 in repair work.
I guess if were going to crash a scooter I’d choose to crash it in Bali where everything is so cheep!
Peter made an appt to bring the bike back first thing in the AM and we got on our way to
Jimbaran Bay.
The ride wasn’t too bad. The traffic was thick in some spots. We drove slowly and cautiously. Just getting used to driving and turning from the opposite side of the street is difficult to get used to. Traffic rules as we know it doesn’t apply in this country. Motorbikes far out number cars and they are all going at different speeds. Right of way goes to whoever is faster or bigger. People pull out and expect you to avoid them. Some how though, with all that said this method of driving seems to work. It is an incredible flow of pedestrians, bicyclist, scooters, push carts and trucks. WHEW!
Renting a scooter is a great way to see the details of an area you visit. You are driving slower and you can fit into spots where most cars can’t go. That was defiantly the case in
Jimbaran Bay. We weaved in and out of old neighborhoods and saw a lot of things most tourists don’t see. The area at the end of town is a busy fishing settlement with old huts and rundown shanties. Peter and I got off the scooter and walked down to the water where the boats were starting to come in with their days catch. The areas workers consist mostly of migrants from Java and Madura and are not of Balinese origin.
Peter and I wondered into the fish market on the shore just steps from where the boats come in with mounds of fish. The market was a large area. The structure was a basic overhang with a tin roof. It had a low ceiling and Peter had to duck as we made our way through.
It didn’t take long to realize the people doing this work were probably the hardest working but yet the poorest on the island. They were friendly and unaffected by our presence. That didn’t keep me from feeling uncomfortable and out of place. Even in my modest clothes without my jewelry, my hair not done and no make up I still stood out. I am clean, healthy and my skin is without scars and sores. I could only stay there for so long before my guilt got the best of me. Why have I been so lucky to have been born in the country I was born in? Why do I feel so criminal and embarrassed in this atmosphere?


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Another monumentAnother monument
Another monument

Bali has more Temples and monuments than motor scooters.... well maybe!


11th October 2009

Hey u might of stood out in the crowd but I bet Peter fit right in with his war wounds and snaggle tooth. You could probably just leave him there and he'd turn into "boat people".Looks like he'd eat good.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb