UBUD : I'm in love...


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
January 29th 2011
Published: August 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

29th January 2011
It took me nearly hour and a half from Kuta to Ubud. I was fast asleep during the bus trip when I suddenly awake to a beautiful scenery of Ubud. All of the hectic town atmosphere were replaced by a serene paddy field view. I can see the villagers were busy carving their statue of god and goddess, local artist taking their time producing fine artworks, and their majestic pura & puri (temple & castle) ... I just thought to myself : this is heaven! The bus passed by the Ubud art market...there were fulled with foreigners, its a must visit market while you're in Ubud.

I decided to give four season resort at Sayan a nice visit to witness myself their famous architecture design. It was hidden from public view in a remote venue. I was not really expecting anything at first but to my surprise, it was indeed a dramatic design. I walk along like a hanging bridge at the entrance and towards the end I saw a round infinity pool which you can hang around there. The infinity pool itself were high up (almost 6storey high up) over looking to a vast rainforest. I took my time there to really appreciate the nature. Then I was served with delicious tea and cake at the exclusive cafe. Awhile later I take a walk around the resort. So amazing!!! Here are some of the picture I took while I'm in the resort. It would cost you around USD450 per night. INSANE! But you could try out their spa and spend on dinner here. Worth every penny!

Satisfied with the visit I went back to Ubud art centre. I just walk around to survey the price there. Amazing stuff..I was so amazed with Balinese arts and craft! They really do know how to preserved their tradition and culture...to think about that, I felt sad thinking about Malaysia. We were trying so hard to be modernized but we forgot our own roots. SAD! Anyway, I then went to have my dinner not far away from the market. I had a lovely fried duck (they call it Bebek there). As night fall, I then went to my guesthouse to have some rest. It was so dark on the way to the guesthouse and the driver left me at the side of a paddy field. I had to walk along a narrow trail in the paddy field to get to the guesthouse. It was really nice. I love my room..its kinda rustic and quite spooky at times. hehehe.

30th January 2011
As usual, I woke up early in the morning and had my breakfast. It was really nice having breakfast with the paddy field scenery. I really love it here. Next stop : Agung Rai Museum of Art (ARMA). Since I am a big fan of arts especially on paintings, sculpture & traditional dance...this museum seems to be a must for me to visit. Indeed, it was worth it. I immediately fell in love with traditional Balinese paintings. These paintings mostly tells the story of the life and death of Balinese people, their beliefs, their gods and goddess and not to forget sexual life. God, I would die to get married with a Balinese artist. Hahaha, I really felt that way at that particular moment. Then I took my time to watch the Balinese children practicing their legong and Barongan dance. I really can't help being emotional while watching the dance, I really felt that I want to live here and dance all my heart to this addictive gamelan music. I really would if I got the chance!

Then, I continue my journey high up to the mount of Kintamani. I fell asleep on the way to Kintamani so I lost track of time but I did awake to a beautiful scenery of the hill rich with serene forest. The moment I step out, the cold weather straight away reminds me of Cameron Highland back in Malaysia. Luckily I was all prepared with descent cloth. Locals there were trying so hard to sell all kinds of stuff and would literally swarm the tourists there. I'm kinda annoyed by that but being inspired by the visit to ARMA, I decided to take my time and tried to sketch the beautiful landscape of Kintamani. A few local youngster took interest in what I did and starts to chat with me. It was very nice to mingle with the locals and changes stories. Felt a bit hungry, I then went into a restaurant and had my lunch. After my lunch, I took my time taking pictures in front of the mountain...I noticed an old woman trying so hard to sell her fruits to the tourists. I once again got tangled up with my emotion and started to cried. I just can't stop crying for a few minutes for the old woman reminds me of my own late grandmother. My grandma was from Indonesia (Sumatra) and migrated to Malaysia long ago. I was blessed to have a good life as a Malaysian and seeing that old woman just made me felt grateful for everything that I have. I would not want to ask more than I have now in my life. Thank you god.

Feeling a bit calm later, I continue my journey to a traditional village in Penglipuran. It was nice to see how they maintain their traditional lifestyles there. I learned a lot about the architecture behind the village and the reasons and functions of it...and its all got to do with their religion ; Hinduism. Then, I went back to Ubud ( well not exactly near Ubud art market) I really don't know where but still in the area of Ubud..hehe. I just wandering along the road and have a look at the shops there (mostly selling paintings and music instrument) I came across this art shop where I had a nice chat with a very friendly artist. He told me about Bali art scene, about his life, his art & families and everything about Ubud. It was very nice. I really wanted to buy his father traditional balinese paintings but it cost more than IDR 1,000,000 (which I think reasonable) but as a student i really don't have that much money to spend at that time. Anyway, I would definitely come back again and am determine to buy myself at least one traditional balinese painting! I also got to talk to a nice music instrument seller and bought a bamboo didgeridoo from him.

I had my dinner after a tiring walk. I then rushes back to the guesthouse and tried to catch up with the legong dance performance in Ubud. Unfortunately i was late and I was kinda frustrated because I had to go back to Kuta tomorrow before I went back to Malaysia. I took my time at the pool to calm down and inhale every precious breath in Ubud. I really love u Ubud!

31st January 2011
Had my breakfast that morning as usual, then I just walk around the guesthouse to take some pictures before I leave. Its really hard for me to say goodbye to this place. The driver then took me to Ubud art market to buy souvenirs there. The trick is that to buy things early in the morning when they are about to start business. The Balinese believed that having a customer as early as they could means that their business will be blessed for the day..so you can really get a good bargain if you were to be the first customer.

Next stop : Bali green school in Badung. On the way there, I stopped to have my lunch and it was nice. I had to walk quite a miles to get to the school. I walked along the forest and had to cross a river before I eventually arrived at the entrance..but its all worth it. I do not know how to describe the school, it was mesmerizing..indeed it was green. You just have to see it yourself then. hahaha. I stayed there for a few hours before I headed back to Kuta. I fell asleep on the way to Kuta and arrived there at dusk. I had my dinner while watching a couples of dance which were not satisfying enough. I then headed back to hotel which I've stayed before in Kuta. I really wanted to go wandering around Kuta beach at night but due to the lack of money, I just stayed back in hotel and have a rest.

1st February 2011
Waking up for the last time in Bali feel suck! I'm just not ready to say my goodbye. Anyhow, I packed my bags, had breakfast and headed to Kuta beach for the last time. I just walk all over the place and managed to bought a skateboard for my brother back at home and a nice pot that looks like a duck for my dad. He's a duck collector. hehehe. Few hours before i left, I took my time to try the street food there. End up having a really nice bakso at the beach. It was the most delicious bakso I've ever tasted. Love it. At the evening I had to rush to the airport. I took a night plane and cried my hearts out when the plane finally left Bali. It was the most amazing journey I've ever had and it definitely opens my mind to a new world. I wouldn't want to do anything else in my life accept for exploring the world. Bali, I'm in love!






Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

four seasonsfour seasons
four seasons

the bridge to the lounge
four season, Sayan four season, Sayan
four season, Sayan

at the infinity pool lounge


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb