KUTA, BALI : 3days of inspiring journey


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
January 27th 2011
Published: August 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

27th January 2011
It was an early morning plane that I took on that very day. I believe it departs around 10 in the morning. I was so excited since I last board a plane more than 15 years ago. hahaha.. I felt a bit nervous too as I always do when I'm on board but all went well. I was lucky that I got to sit at the window and after like 2hours after departing from Kuala Lumpur I saw a very weird clouds. It was a very thick orange-brown colored clouds and it turns out that it wasn't a cloud at all. It was the ashes from a live bursting volcano eruption, Tengger Caldera in east Java. Most of the plane that depart later than us had to cancel their flight. So I was very thrilled that it happens to erupt right in front of me.

The plane finally arrived in Denpasar airport after a 3hours of flight. Upon my arrival in the airport,i noticed that it was a very old and modest airport but with a very unique traditional gateway that quickly captured my heart. After dealing with the passport and stuff, I finally get out of the airport and was welcomed with a necklace of flower. I then wonder around Denpasar town and decide to have a lunch. Noticing a few familiar menu, I agreed on a treat called pecel lele. Its a rice set served with fried catfish and a very spicy sambal which is a lot different with Malaysian sambal because we mix the sambal with Belacan (shrimp paste) to give a salty taste. I also had a nice tea in the bottle. You won't get this in Malaysia!

With my tummy fulled, I went straight to hotel which had been booked earlier. It was a cozy and nice hotel in Kuta but a bit far off from the beach. I would definitely search for a guesthouse along the beach of Kuta next time around. I took my shower and were ready for my trip to Tanah Lot. You can arranged the trip with your hotel or you can easily find a trip by bus all over Kuta town. It took me about 1hour to get there. And the road, owh..god knows how complicated it was. If you really have the guts to travel around by motorcycle (just like I always wanted to) ...just please be careful because the traffic there is crazy! But I do enjoy the beautiful scenery. Its just amazing.

Tanah Lot is a sacred temple located directly on top of the cliffs looking out right to the ocean. Its a must visit temple when you're in Bali. The view is just spectacular! It took my breath away. I always am fascinated by Hindu's religion but Hindu's in Bali really take you to the other level when they brilliantly blend it with their unique culture. I then just take my time wandering around hundreds of souvenir shops at the entrance of the temple. At 6 pm the bus went back to Kuta and I had a lovely chinese cuisine dinner at a local restaurant. Right after that I went back to my hotel and have a rest but I did take my time walking along the road to see a couple of surf brand factory outlet before I went to bed.

28th January 2011
I woke up early in the morning and had my breakfast at the hotel. The plan is to go to Kuta beach. Before that, I manage to bought myself a very nice sarong. Its orange in color and very balinese! While I'm in Kuta beach, I quickly changed my jeans to my new sarong because I really can't bare with the heat! I just wandering around the town and the beach too. The beach wasn't quite nice...its kinda dirty with dogs poops and stuff...and you can see dogs running everywhere. But its a nice place for a new beginner surfer because there are affordable short classes and the wave & current is not that strong. But I really won't dare to swim at the beach...hehehe.

Next, I went to Garuda Wisnu Kencana. Its an enormous statue of GWK which will stand about 150meters in height and 64meters across. But for the mean time, the only part that has been done is the Wisnu statue (up from the body part to the head) , the Garuda statue ( standing 18meters tall) and the Wisnu's hand...perhaps when I come back to Bali again, the statue would be completely done. I had my lunch there and I don't know whats with the corn & eggs soup. You really can find that literally in every restaurant in Bali.

Right after that I went to Uluwatu. Again, its easy to find a bus trip to Uluwatu which I believe they will take you to Pura Uluwatu or most known as the monkey temple. The monkeys there are very mischievous. You will be told to be extra careful with your spectacles, shades, jewelery,camera etc because the monkey will really mess with your belongings! I walk along the entrance feeling scared because there were hundreds of them there. I then step down a long narrow staircase with bushes both on my side. When I came to the end of the stairs, I went right and I can barely hear the wave. I continue walk along the cliff but my view were hidden with the thick grown bushes along it until I came to a corner that opens up towards the sea. I stop breathing! The sea were deep blue and it was so beautiful. I really can't express it with words this time. The waves were rough and high! BREATHTAKING! At the end of the trail I just sit and enjoy the amazing view at a very nice clear field.

Awhile later I rushes back along the trail to the main temple to watch the kechak dance performance. Please be aware of the time of the performance because you might want to be half an hour early there to get the most perfect seat. Indeed, I manage to get one! A perfect seat in the middle watching straight over the sunset! The kechak dance was very interesting especially to me because I am really into this traditional dance, drama scene. I love it! I really recommend to all Bali's first timer to spend their time and watch this unique performance to really get the culture of Balinese. After satisfying time in Uluwatu I went back to Kuta and have a rest for awhile at the hotel poolside. I had my dinner before went back to the hotel to get my rest after a long tiring day.

29th January 2011
Again, i woke up early and had my breakfast. Then, i went for a walk around the hotel. There were spa's and villa's behind the hotel. Its like some sort of a small village and the environment is nice too. I've packed all my bags and headed to Kuta before I continue the journey to Ubud. I came across a ceremony in an empty land in the middle of the town. It turns out that it was a death ceremony. I learned that they will dig up the corpses that have been buried years before to deal with cremation ceremony. It was nice to learn their culture. You can see offerings everywhere and everyday consists of all kinds of flowers and biscuits. I will continue the journey to Ubud on the next blog entree...see ya!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

admiring the templeadmiring the temple
admiring the temple

Notice the surfers down there having fun with the big wave
UluwatuUluwatu
Uluwatu

trying so hard to look like Balinese girl...hahaha


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb