The Ubud Restaurants Experience


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
May 7th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Top of the list!Top of the list!Top of the list!

The lamb soup I had on my way to Goa Gajah! too bad I cant tell you the exact location......
One of the major events in my Bali trip was enjoying the local food. From the not-to-be-missed (as stated in some travel books) Ibu Oka babi guling, the Murni's Warung, Wayan Batu, Cafe Wayan, Bebek Bengkel, Bali Buddha, Cafe Lotus, Lotus Lane etc. to the less known Biah Biah, Bridge Cafe, Padi to the local food stall without a name on the road sides selling nasi campur, bakso, or dessert. A meal can be as expensive as 20USD or as cheap as less than 1USD per peson. I didnt try the French cuisine here (some said Bali has some of the best French cuisinier here) coz I believe in Malaysia we can have some good ones too.

After trying most of the so called recommended restaurants, the only taste I can still remember right now is the lamb soup I've tried on my way from Bejeng to Goa Gajah. The taste is hot, spicy and original....and it's just a food stall at the roadside without a name...(even some said these food are from Padang) but besides those well-known restaurants, local food in Bali is something really not-to-be missed!

Of course my favourite meals in Bali include my breakfast in
Chocolate CakeChocolate CakeChocolate Cake

'Death By Chocolate' is the name of this popular dessert in Cafe Wayan....Im lucky coz Im still alive.
Indra Prastha. Thanks to Gedek who woke up at 5 to prepare our breakfast every morning. The bakso I bought from a guy with a motorbike was delicious too. And the nasi campur I bought from the roadside (sold by a local lady, opened after dark, nearby the internet cafe on the same street with Bebek Bengkel 1) was delicious too! Some 'halal' food also not bad (mostly sold by non-Balinese, maybe by Musliml from Jawa) but it is not really Bali taste.

However, what really impressed me was the decoration of these famous restaurants which is so unique and sometimes has stlen the limelight of the food there. In Murni's Warung I didnt really enjoy the food but had paid all my attenton to the decoration. Lotus cafe and Cafe Wayan too have some beautiful decos and gardens. It's a worthwhile experience though seeing these restaurants really put some creativity in their decos which made each of them so unique and magnificent.

(Kiat Hoe sorry for copying ur idea, hahahah)



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Indra PrasthaIndra Prastha
Indra Prastha

It's not a restaurant, it's the losmen I stayed, and the breakfast is superb!
Pork!Pork!
Pork!

I can't believe I couldnt finish the famous Ibu Oka's Babi Guling.....it's tasty but a bit overrated.
Seafood in JimbaranSeafood in Jimbaran
Seafood in Jimbaran

Seaside restaurants in Jimbaran.....the environment is perfect and the food is not bad, but the price is rediculous!
Cafe LotusCafe Lotus
Cafe Lotus

The lotus garden has stolen the limelight of the food.
Award winning mealAward winning meal
Award winning meal

My lunch at Murni's Warung
At Murni WarungAt Murni Warung
At Murni Warung

I took my lunch at Murni's after visiting the art muzeum. The restaurant is like another art muzeum to me….
Crispy DuckCrispy Duck
Crispy Duck

I ran to Bebek Bengkel straight after I've dropped my luggage at the losmen, but the food was just so so.....
Bebek BengkelBebek Bengkel
Bebek Bengkel

Dirty Duck is just a few minutes walk from my losmen


9th May 2006

good food guide
huh...is a good food guide for me when i go to Bali next time...=)

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb